Homemade Tomato Paste FAILsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading5 years ago

DSC00500.JPG
~photo taken by me :-)

Time to Experiment

Last year I had a bumper crop of roma tomatoes. Romas always seem to produce well no matter what happens during the growing season. I love romas!

I couldn't eat nor dehydrate fast enough, or so it seemed, with the tomatoes that were piling up in my kitchen. Since I love to make lasagna, I thought, "Why not make tomato paste?"

What Could Go Wrong?

I had enough roma tomatoes to fill a LARGE canning pot, so I set the tomatoes to simmer. Even romas have A LOT of water to cook out of them. I did leave the skins on and just diced them. After a day or so of simmering, I put them in a pot less than half the size of the canning pot (photo provided). As you can see, the tomatoes still have plenty of water in them.

I cooked them for another day and then decided to can them. I did blend them into a paste, canned them, and then hoped for the best.

You Never Know Until You Try

Lesson learned. I actually made lasagna with the homemade paste. It wasn't concentrated enough, so it was a first big fail for me in awhile. Oh well. We ate the lasagna, of course. I know I am my worst critic but I knew that this experiment did not work the way I had hoped.

Yes, I had a recipe. It didn't help.


If you have any suggestions or examples of what worked for you, I'd love to hear from you.

Thanks for stopping by!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61374.19
ETH 2885.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55