You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ANIMALS ON THE HOMESTEAD - OUR PLAN (SO FAR)

in #homesteading6 years ago

Thanks for a peek around your place @papa-pepper and sharing your reasoning on the livestock.

  • I didn't know a couple of things...
    • You eat guineas?
      Grandpa always had some, but I don't remember eating them...
    • re: rabbits
      How many does it take to get enough fertilizer for a good size garden?
      • I wouldn't mind eating a few here and there either.
        How many would you add for that?
      • I'll ask the same I asked knowledge-seeker about the cows...
        How many does per buck?
  • Do you have any posts yet going over your feed program and bill?

Thanks for always sharing your common sense!
(common sense is not so common nowadays...)

Sort:  

Guineas are all dark meat birds but completely edible. I have yet to eat my first, but I am looking forward to it.

Rabbits = depends. We keep six in a pen with a slanted bottom so that the manure just rolls into five gallon buckets. My plan is to make small holes for each plant, fill it with the manure, and then plant directly into that. Otherwise a lot of the "soil" around here is rock and clay, so the manure should definitely help. Rabbits reproduce incredibly well and one buck can breed as many does as you've got.

I do not have any posts on the feed program or costs. In the summer we get our rabbits up to about 75% yard waste so the cost then is incredibly reduced. Winter is when people generally cull their animals and therefore have less to feed. Then they breed for spring births and start over again.

Thanks for sharing this info...

  • There's a lot to learn and if I can eliminate some trial and error by asking a few questions to people who willingly share what they know...
    that's awesome!!!

Yes, you are doing an excellent job asking questions around here! STEEM ON!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68820.96
ETH 3915.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64