You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It's Time to Set Out The Swarm Traps

in #homesteading7 years ago

I did not know that bees are not native to the Americas! How interesting. I live in Washington State and our fruit orchards have been feeling the effects of our declining bee population. One man started a company where I pick up Mason bees in the spring and return them greatly multiplied. He then supplies our orchard owners with bees for pollination. It's just my small part to play in assisting. The Mason bees are fun to watch and they don't sting.

I am new to Steemit but find your articles interesting. I will follow you to see what is next for you.

Thanks for the informative post. The entire thread was educational.

Sort:  

Thank you so much @witchazel! Yep.....there are a whole lot of species here that shouldn't be. We are starting to get cogongrass down here in Louisiana. That's a nasty pest that chokes out everything around it! And the fire ant! Nasty rascals those! But the honey bee.....I don't think they harm a thing. I think more people should get involved raising them!
Thanks for the comment and the follow! Welcome to Steemit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61963.30
ETH 2416.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67