Power's Back On, Generator's Gone

in #homesteading7 years ago

ElectricTower1.jpg

Sometimes reading the instructions just isn't enough.

When I got this old beast of a generator running last year, I figured I'd have to take care of it. I changed the oil, gave it a new battery, cleaned out the air filter. And it rewarded me by starting right up when we lost power on Friday. It ran for 44 hours. I wondered if that was pushing things, but I was afraid that if I turned it off, it wouldn't turn back on again.

There's been something up with the starter battery since the start - where it doesn't seem to re-charge with use. So I've been keeping the bettery in the house on a trickle charger, ready to go. Only problem is, once the thing's running, I've got no way to re-charge it. I guess I could have tried pulling it from the generator and putting it back on the trickle-charger, but I wasn't sure if I could safely pull it out with the generator running.

As for the oil, I wasn't too worried. There's a warning light that's supposed to go on if the oil gets low, and an emergency shutoff circuit too. A label says to change the oil after 100 hours of use. I figured I was good for two more days.

Well, when it came to a stop Sunday, it became clear that my confidence was unfounded. The flywheel was seized up and almost impossible to move, and the battery was hissing and venting steam that smelled of sulfurous rotton eggs. I'm glad I wasn't smoking at the time. I've since read that that's highly explosive hydrogen gas.

I'm still not sure what's going on with this battery. I thought maybe it was overcharged. Testing it with a meter revealed it was at 13 volts, but my emergency car-jump starter reported 14.1 volts. And yet it wouldn't give any juice to the generator at all. Any ideas from the engineering crowd?

And it turns out the thing must have been burning oil. I guess the warning light and the shutoff circuit didn't do their jobs. The reservoir was empty. So I added some, wrenched the flywheel around until it loostened up again, and waited for the battery and motor to cool down. I grabbed the smaller starter battery from the lawn mower and boosted it with an emergency car jumper. Turned the key. I got it to the point where it would spin for a most of a cycle and then come jerking to a stop. Forced it through the compression phase and then repeated. But it didn't sound like anything engine-y or ignition-y was happening at all. So whether it's borked completely or I just need to fully juiced battery to start it, I guess we'll find out later.

It's amazing how fast a starter battery drains, when you keep using it to crank an engine that won't start. They really do shoot their load all at once.

In any case, I've had my fill of generator service for now. I think I'd like to find a smaller one with a pull-cord starter sometime before next winter. Or maybe just go to a hotel in the city next time we have a big storm.

For some good news: just as I was coiling up the extension cords, grumbling and swearing, and planning to take a drive to my mother's place to spend the night (an hour farther away from work the next day) the power came back on. So if there is a god, it turns out he answers curses as well as prayers.

Coal3.JPG

Sort:  

Ugh man you are giving me flashbacks of bad days lol

lol at "engine-y or ignition-y" I perfectly understood exactly what you mean from that. Its going through the motions but you know its not taking.

Sorry - didn't mean to be any kind of "trigger."

Really hoping it works again. Not least because I don't want another 150' pile of metal to dispose of.

You could have good volts on the battery but it just won’t hold a charge or have any cranking power. If you can get the engine to turn over I would try a fresh battery. It is a diesel generator right? I think I remember from your last post. If so, Diesel engine require a lot of cranking power. My 2 Diesel rigs have 2 batteries each with 900 cold cranking amps on each battery. This is due to the amount of compression in a Diesel engine. No spark plugs, just compression.

If it’s a gasoline generator then I would do spark plugs and wires if the engine is turning over and not starting.

Just my .02

Thanks. I definitely value your advice, electricity man!

Yes, it's a diesel. The battery has 360 CCA I think. But I'm not sure if I need to add water or something? A lot of steam and sulphur smell came out of it. Is it safe to put it back on a trickle charger?

Actually I bet by "fresh battery" you mean I ought to go buy a new one. Maybe I could hook my car battery to it. (Since I've got a dead car with a newish battery.) I'm not sure what's going on with the charging circuit. Will it keep running if I disconnect the battery while it's working? That way I could just keep it charging safely in the house and be ready to re-start the generator after more frequent oil refills.

I wouldn’t trust that battery that is for sure. 😜😜

If your car battery has that amount of CCA then it should work.

As far as removing it to trickle charge while it’s running, I don’t think that will work because I would imagine it has some sort of alternator to charge the battery in order to power the fuel pump. So you pull the power then the pump no worry, But without looking at the generator it’s tough to know exactly.

That's a drag. I just bought that battery two months ago!

The alternator could have ruined the battery. That happened to my truck not too long ago. Put a set of fresh batteries in ($250) then 6 months later they are toast. Glad I had a warranty 😂

I would see if you can find the alternator and pull it an have it tested. Most auto arts places test them for free. I guess it depends on how far you want to dig into it.

Yeah, at this point I'm thinking I may just drop $300 for a new generator at Home Depot. Something with a pull-cord starter and no battery. But if I get bored over the summer (Hah!) maybe I'll take the old beast apart to see if I can teach myself how to fix it.

I'm getting kind of tired of tinkering and trying to get by with old crap, to be honest. It might be time for a change.

Those new generator are nice and quiet and more fuel efficient. Better buy 2 😜😜
There comes a point when you just say “screw it!” I’m buying a new one. That happens to me quite a bit.

Aren’t you guys expecting more storms?

Snow still coming down this morning but we made it through the latest windy bit without losing power! I gotta get off the computer and out the door though. Could be a slow commute!

Glad to hear those generators work well. You're right, I think two cheap ones might be smarter than one fancy one.

Im just glad u guys have the power back on. :)

Me too! I've been missing you guys!

I think it makes sense to invest in Musk's solar panel and battery in Northeast area. The batteries are charged through solar roof during sunny days and they will serve as backup during stormy days.

Been wondering about that. We have a huge roof with clear skies overhead. Do you really think that it would generate enough in the winter to stand up to an extended power outage? Several days?

The battery itself probably will last only a couple of days but stormy days usually won't last long neither. As soon as the sun comes out, your solar roof will recharge your battery as well as power your house.

But this is New England. We have gone months without seeing the sun. Of course, a wind turbine could work wonders around here, if we could hide it from the neighbors!

More joys of life. I had a lot of trouble with my truck battery. Took it to a shop and another one, and got two different answers. Good and Bad battery. I'd sure try another before junking it all. Though the other problems of oil, cyclinders and such sounds a bit more daunting. Like all tools..."I just want it to work, and not MESS with it." Hope you get it all ironed out. Before the next stormclouds set in.

I'm leaning towards a smaller replacement with a pull-cord starter. Or an occasional hotel stay in the city. Might make for a fun change of pace.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.94
ETH 2621.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74