What to look forward to

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

My account is finally worth $1 woohoo!

Today my plan is to set out empty beehive boxes in hopes that nearby honeybees decide to move in. I have had the blessed fortune of tracking down 6 locations where I know there are bees living nearby and I have permission from property owners to attempt to capture their swarms. One colony has been living in the walls of a 100 year old house for at least half of the house's lifetime. The 40 year old owner told me "I was conceived and born in this house and those bees were there before me".

A swarm is a clump of bees that leaves the old nest in search of a new home. This is how bees multiply. Tom Seely is the world's foremost expert on swarms (maybe he is a "bee-haviorist"?). According to his 40+ years of field research, bees make all major decisions by 100% consensus. Being an anarchist and a beekeeper, I am so excited to learn more about these highly advanced creatures and to share it with you. The next two months are going to be some of my best adventures, so stay tuned!

Picture is from pixabay.com

Sort:  

walidloc I will give you 0.060 to 0.070 SBD worth vote and give 20 plus upvote on your post in just 0.050 Sand 0.050 at @farhannaqvi7

Thats great! Rub some lemon grass on the inside to replicate the queens pheromone to help attract swarms.

I am planning to partner! Thanks! are you a beekeeper too?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57614.45
ETH 3097.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57