Wild Tip - Add Wild Patches to Your Garden

in #homesteading5 years ago (edited)

I don't use any chemicals to control garden pests. Instead I strive to establish a balance between prey and predators. But without habitat for predators they won't show up and the pests will get out of balance.

Often this is the situation with our vegetable gardens. These manicured gardens filled with yummy annual vegetables in nice rows are just a buffet for pests.

So what can you do?

There are actually a number of solutions but one that I really like is to add wild patches to your garden beds.

The picture at the top of the post shows one of mine. Each of my garden beds has one of these wild patches.

These patches include snags, woody debris, nice thick mulch and rock piles. Plus, I'm planting native wild vegetables in these patches this fall that will provide harvests for me and my family while also supporting beneficial insects.

So do these patches work?

Well yesterday I had to take the one in the picture apart and rebuild it to deal with some grass that was leftover from the old lawn.

Inside the rock pile I found centipedes, some spiders, and best of all a garter snake! All predators and garter snakes were my main goal when building the rock piles!

The garter snakes in western Washington eat slugs and other pests making these snakes a great predator to have around the garden.

Without predators your vegetables will have pest issues. But with wild patches plus other nature based solutions you can strike a balance with the pests.

When you work with nature, nature works with you.

Check out this blog post to learn more about creating a balance with garden pests: Control Garden Pests without Toxic Chemicals

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

haha... this post made me SMILE over here in Asia. Cos a rockpile like that would have a cobra nesting or a viper pretty darn quickly. We're lucky enough to still be wild enough that treesnakes and the more harmless ones are incredibly common, and no need to build them a hotel. LOL :)

Love the way you are exploring wild and wilding and sharing so much of that experience with us. It makes me realize how wild Thailand still actually is. I routinely look for snakes and scorpions and frogs before putting on my shoes every day. LOL

Want a juicy 80-100% upvote? Read more here: https://steempeak.com/ecotrain/@eco-alex/i-just-powered-up-6-000-steem-with-a-total-of-23-000-steem-power-on-my-two-accounts-for-curating-ecotrain


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

lol, yeah... perhaps not the best option for you ;) Here there are no poisonous snakes or really anything to worry about. The most poisonous animal in my area is a newt and as long as you don't lick it you are fine. Thanks for the comment!

This is something that I need to develop more of for my gardens.

This is something that
I need to develop more
Of for my gardens.

                 - amberyooper


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

They can help a lot and I think add a lot to the garden in terms of beauty and enjoyment in addition to helping with pests. Thanks for the comment and good luck!

Posted using Partiko Android

I haven't seen groupings of rocks used in this way before. Love them. Will definitely incorporate something like this into some of my own wild patches in the backyard. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

Awesome! :) I really like having them and I'm going to add more soon to my place. Especially at the edges of some of my shrubs. Areas where the rocks are sheltered but still get some sun. Might put some flat ones out in the sunny spot for snakes and alligator lizards to warm up on.

Sounds like a great plan @wildhomesteading. My brother is a stonemason and last birthday he gave me a pile of beautiful rocks ~ By request ~ Rather than a bunch of flowers. I used them to make a border on one of the side gardens ~ Now I'll have to put in another request so that I can build the wall up a little in places.

I really love surrounding trees and shrubs with circles of rocks too. Just have one at the moment. That now needs building up! ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

Nice! I'm sure a lot of critters will be enjoy all those rocks you are adding to your place! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64198.11
ETH 2759.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66