Weekend Check in: Lots of Cardboard for Mulching!

in #homesteading5 years ago (edited)

I got a lot of cardboard! The picture is showing the cardboard that I removed tape from over the weekend. I have another 5x that amount to go through... so why do I have all this cardboard?

About a week ago I shared that I got about 40 cubic yards of wood chips free from my local county. This is amazing but wood chips are not enough on their own.

I use a technique called sheet-mulching to prepare land for planting. This involves putting down cardboard over the existing plants (often grass) and then adding wood chips on top of the cardboard.

This is a great way to prepare land for planting and I want to plant a lot of edible shrubs and fruit trees over the fall/winter/spring.

So I'm collecting cardboard and spending a fair bit of my free time removing tape from the boxes. Lot of work but I can't wait to replace the grass with fruit trees, shrubs and native edible plants.

What did you work on last weekend on your homestead/garden? Please share in the comments!

Check out this blog post to learn more about sheet-mulching - How to Get Started with Sheet Mulching

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

It would be a tough call here in Thailand - all cardboard is SOLD almost instantly for cash. And we have recycling depots where anyone can go in and sell their goodies, so cardboard is like unicorns. Old cotton textile waste work well too - old curtains, sheets, threadbare towels etc.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

Interesting, here it is just a waste product that people are happy to give away. Guess you just got to use what is available where you are at. Old cotton textiles would be harder to find here. Thanks for the comment!

Posted using Partiko Android

A great little tip although I always struggling to find bark chipping other than in the garden centre but is is treated crap. I have asked tree surgeons but they won't due to health and safety rubbish haha what a world we live in. A work in progress with that one I think 💯🐒

Interesting, the tree people are always happy to give dump chips in my area. I had to sign a waiver for the county to dump their chips but otherwise they were happy to dump at my place.

Posted using Partiko Android

Health and safety has gone mad in the UK 💯🐒

Fun stuff!! lol. I am waiting until it cools to finish my cardboard/mulch project. It's still just to hot out. It was 94 today. Blah. Thankfully next week it is supposed to drop down quite a bit and should stay in the low 80's for a while. Do you have equipment like a bobcat or do you do it all by hand like we do? It's a LOT of work. But definately worth the effort.

Too hot! Been lucky here with a relatively mild summer. Nice break from the last few summers which were very hot with a lot of wild fire smoke. I mostly do everything by hand these days. In the past I rented a mini-excavator and a small dingo (smaller than a bobcat but similar) for a hugelkultur project but since then everything is by hand.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @wildhomesteading! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63743.08
ETH 2657.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87