You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: FREE FOOD FOR YOUR LIVESTOCK (and bonus survival stuff for you!)

We Love foraging for us and the animals! We have beauty berry all over our homestead but didn't think to add it to animals area! That Muscadine vine is HUGE! so cool! I love them! I hope you don't take this the wrong way but I feel I should point out something important, Please know I am saying this with kindness and community love. Your picture of broadleaf plantain is not broadleaf plantain. I am very familiar with plantain in different regions of the country and there can be some variance but that is definitely not plantain. I have seen that weed here also but don't know it's name or if it is edible. I hope you can find out what it is and I would be glad to share a picture of plantain if you would like? Can pictures be posted to comments in steemit? I hope this comment is okay, I really am enjoying all your post and respect you so please understand my intentions are purely helpful and good!
Peace and Love,
Rose

Sort:  

I'll check again, but we had someone come from the Ag agency and identify our "weeds". They havent sprouted the seed stems yet. I'm always willing to double check though! Thanks for the heads up :0)

Thanks for understanding! I am always hesitant to say anything and risk offending but I know I would want someone to tell me! I have done plant ID for the State Botanist and the Extension service if that helps you feel any better. Thanks again for being cool!

Hey we are all hear to learn. Its been since my son was a baby (he's 10 now) since the Ag guy came out. What do you think it is? We are west coast florida...

I recognize it and know I have seen it here in georgia but I am drawing a blank on name. A bloom would really help!

My husband says he remembers it being Dwarf Plaintain or Little Foot...

the leaves of plantain all have veins that run from top to bottom like a monocot, the plant in your picture has veins running horizontally. Does that make sense? the closest guess I have right now is common teasel? just a guess tho! need to see it in person or blooms for definate ID.

Blooms should be soon!

Ok, I might be onto something! This may actually be Dock, or yellow dock! Its a wild superfood at any rate. Cant wait for the blossoms to get a positive ID!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70272.86
ETH 3773.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82