You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Farmstead Pest Control Secret Weapon: Guinea Fowl

in #homesteading7 years ago

Thank you for the reply. Yes, they are capable of flying and typically roost in trees or other available high perches. We have wild turkeys on our property and surrounding areas as well but I have never seen them wander off to follow the turkeys. I hope that helps.

Sort:  

Yes, that is exactly what I want to know and so glad you have direct experience with this.

I think we will try to get some newly hatched when the time comes because their beneficial qualities seem just suited to our needs. I see other people do have them locally (New Hampshire) so they should be able to survive the winters.
Once I saw our rooster chase a small turkey around in a circle from our property into the woods and then back out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58009.23
ETH 3063.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34