Around the Backyard

in #homesteading7 years ago

Whizhead in the sunlight, potatoes, berries and zucchini flowers. Finally an elephant ear starts to grow. Fueled by cow and chicken compoost and a little biochar to add lasting organic material to our poor sandy soil.
IMG_0296.JPG
IMG_0297.JPG
IMG_0289.JPG
IMG_0288.JPG
IMG_0294.JPG
IMG_0291.JPG
That's just a quick pass through. There are always more pictures to be taken and I am sure that I will put up more. Hopefully, someone else will be encouraged by our efforts.

Sort:  

Yay metal beds! I plan on making mine from these materials as well! How are they held up? Just by attaching wood stuffs on the inside? Do you notice any particular bowing? I've been trying to nail down my design in my head.

That is the standard ribbed metal available at Lowe's and Home Depot. It has held up quite well. Those beds are four foot by twelve foot. I used heavier wood that I had laying around the shop to connect at the corners and and also to bridge the span in the middle to prevent the sides from blowing out. They seem to have held together fairly well. They are about two years old now. The round beds were the first we made. They were considerably more aggravating to assemble because the panels had to be bent against the reinforcing ribs, but they are quite rigid and only required wood supports at the seem. The round beds are more than four years old. We are also testing an all wooden bed treated in the Sho Sugi Ban wood preservation method. I will do a write up on that in the near future.

Awesome! I think when I build mine, my supports will mostly be on the outside, then I also plan to create a bench seat for ultimate efficiency.... ease ... Laziness. Hahaha.

Can't wait to see what else you share!!

Cool garden. Raised planter are great. We grow all our stuff in raised planters and containers too.

We love the raised beds, they are much easier to control and also on our back. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57797.87
ETH 3067.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29