Smoke from the Past

Ever wondered how clothes were pressed back in the old days in the Philippines? On old photos you would see ladies and gentlemen with clothes neatly pressed. There was no electricity back then so in order to get the clothes pressed and in order to impress, a charcoal powered flat iron was invented. This device is called...................


Platsa de Uling

1.JPG

This is an antique flat iron that was passed down from my great grandmother. I feel so blessed to have this piece of heritage passed down to us. I would treasure this heirloom and pass on to the next generation as grandmother has done.

2.JPG

If you would closely look you would see a letter "V" engraved on the handle. This is the initial of my grandmother which stands for "Visitacion". She often engraves her initial on her belongings which reminds us of her every time we use one of her things. She was kind and very resourceful as far as I can remember. My mother used to tell me stories from her youth when times were hard and money was hard to get by. My grandmother always finds was to make sure everything is covered. No new clothes, she makes them, not enough food she plants them which tells me what an amazing woman she was.

3.JPG

First time we used this iron which I still clearly recall. There was a storm and we had no electricity for a week already. It was my grade school graduation and my clothes needed to be pressed. My mother took out this device and fired up some charcoals and started to press my clothes. I was amazed to see how it worked and I went up that stage proud with my neatly pressed clothes.

4.JPG

Let me show you how this device works. You would need to unlock it first and have it opened.

5.JPG

Next you would fire up some charcoals enough to fill the Plantsa and make sure the charcoals are burning red.

6.JPG

One by one you would need to fill up the device just enough to cover the whole space.

7.JPG

8.JPG

9.JPG

Once filled up you would need to close it and turn the lock to keep the charcoals in and prevent the ashes from flying around.

10.JPG

11.JPG

Another procedure which my aunt told me. You would need to use a banana leaf and place the Plantsa on it. This would allow a smooth press as you work on your clothes.

12.JPG

13.JPG

Once that is all done. You have a fired up device and you could proceed with your ironing of your clothes. My aunt told me that my grandmother used to iron their clothes on their wooden floor with a cloth placed on top of it. Back then they did not have ironing boards and the work was done on the floor.

14.JPG

They also used a bowl of water and a piece of cloth to dampen the clothes that you would be pressing. This allows for the crumples to be easily ironed out. These days they use a water sprayer and some iron has steam that dampens the clothes.

15.JPG

16.JPG

Then you proceed with the ironing as usual. My wife does the ironing as I am not good at it sometimes I leave some crumples on the clothes. I try so hard most of the time but let me just leave it to the expert.

17.JPG

The hand model by the way is my son's as he wanted to be part of the shoot to feature this device. Like me he was also fascinated how things worked back then.

18.JPG

A simple procedure but means a lot to us using the Plantsa de Uling. I hope you enjoyed this part of our heritage and culture. Thank you for joining us again.

I see the smoke for the Plantsa as Steem and we will all get there soon. Cheers Steemians!

19.JPG


Please vote @steemgigs as witness and help support @surpassinggoogle

Also thanks to @bayanihan where the impossible becomes possible thru unity.

Taken with Lumix GX85 and Sigma 50mm 1.4

Snake new.jpg

Sort:  

Older than today's "old school". nice post.

This brings back memories of my grandmother's house. There was one there, but they weren't using it anymore.
It's great that your family's still taking care of an heirloom like that. Treasuring it like that would make the younger generation (like me) put mre importance on preserving our heritage.

Yes it is important to preserve our heritage as they are treasures from our lineage. I still looking for some other stuff fron my grandma so it can be taken care of. Thanks for checking.

Wow this is a great piece of history I'm amazed at the ingenuity.

Thanks glad I was able to share. Pieces of history tells alot of fascinating stories we just need to look closely. 😊

Your grandmother sounds indeed like an amazing woman! I like this old school way or ironing, never seen one ! Very informative post!

Thanks. She was an amazing lady and among her grandchildren I could say I was her favorite 😊.

woohoo my granma hade one of this, hers was heated on the stove thow :) thanks for the show & tell :D 🐉💗 super lovely picture from you, as always :D i doooo prefear the last, more then the first :) Great post🐉💗

Yes the last one looks better.... I knew it! It is always fascinating to reminisce the old ways. Do you have your grandma's iron?

Very nice shot! World class clap

Welcome my friend looking forward to great things from you soon 😊

These are some great photos and what an amazing story. I love the way you tell it. Thanks for sharing this with #culturevulture.

@eroche I am very pleased to have received a comment from you. It means a lot. I am always looking forward to share our heritage in #culturevulture. I am just an amature photographer but I always try my best to tell my stories in each frame in the best way I could. Thank you for your support as it is a motivation for my future contents.

naabutan ko pa yata yan haha

Parang mahirap na yata mag hanap nyan these days. I will treasure mine.

Ang ganda rin ng Sigma 1.4! I used to have the 30mm 1.4 years ago. swabe rin lalo na sa portraits.

Ganda ng sigma bigay lang sa akin bro. Using adapter with it kaya manual focus lang. Pero favorite kong gamitin at ang bokeh you can never get enough of bokeh.l

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97