Seedling update

in #homesteading6 years ago

The second of January I started basil and parsley seeds. The basil popped up in less than 5 days. I was surprised and amazed. The parsley has been taking it's time. Both seed packets said 2 week germination, so I waited and waited. I was beginning to think the parsley was a bust, but yesterday I awoke to this.

CIMG2589.JPG

Yeah they made it! The Basil already has second leaves coming.

CIMG2590.JPG

I have a few more interesting seeds to plant on the next cycle of January 28-29. A friend sent me these sugar pine seeds last fall. I had them in the fridge trying to mimic the cold season. They are huge! I also am going to try some black locust seeds as well. The Black Locust is one of the toughest trees I know of next to the Oak. They are strong, sturdy and make excellent fire wood or fence posts with their natural weather protectant built into them. The blooms on a locust are very aromatic and beautiful. pine nuts are the first picture and black locust second.

CIMG2560.JPG

CIMG2592.JPG

this is what the blossoms of the locust look like. The bees love them.

https://www.extension.iastate.edu/forestry/iowa_trees/tree_id_photos/LOCUST_BLACK_flowers.jp

It will take a few years for these seedlings to amount to anything, but I'm trying to do my part to re forest our land with beneficial plants and trees.

Sort:  

It is always so amazing seeing the young seedlings grow and mature, one of my many addictions of gardening!

something about seeing a tiny hard seed come to life is beautiful and amazing. Looking forward to more of your posts. I had no idea there were so many people with my same gardening bug. I love it.

It certainly is :) Awh thank you! No it is a pretty brilliant community

We have black locust trees in the back here, they are my favourite! Soooo pretty. Yay seedlings! I am starting today with some strawberries and lavender:) Then I will have to hold off for a bit...to early yet. C'mon spring!!

I agree. only 5 more mondays I think until spring. That's not so far away

Oh man!!! Whenever I see people starting their seeds I get so MUCH MORE anxious to start mine... But I have to wait until March-
COME on MARCH!!

I'm trying not to jump the gun here also. With it as unseasonably warm here as it has been it is hard to restrain myself. Some of our fruit trees are trying to bud, and that is not good. I've only had 1 failed fruit crop here in the 11 years i've had the place. This could be another. We will just roll with it.

Your photos have me itching for spring to arrive! Keep sharing your green photos please! It will help warm my chilled bones. I've never even thought of growing trees from seed before but you've got me curious about learning how.

I'm just going to poke them in the dirt and hope for the best. :)

I must get busy seeding...thank you for the reminder, adding to today's to-do list. Begin. Green blessings on your babes.

it perks me up to have green babies in the middle of winter. Enjoying your blog

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64233.18
ETH 3491.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54