Unique Elite Off Grid Propane Range

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

About a month ago our old stove finally sighed it's last breath. I decided to order the Unique Elite 36" On-Grid Propane Range. It finally arrived and at first glance, I am really impressed. In fact, it's the nicest stove I've ever cooked on. She's a beauty!

The stove is unique. There aren't all the bells and whistles that most modern stoves have. There are not flashy lights, timers, beeps or other indicators. The design is meant to be as efficient as possible.

I'll do a thorough review in a month or so when I've put it through it's paces. Here are some of the unique features.

IMG_2253.jpg

Made in Canada.

It's sort of cool that a product like this is made here on Canadian soil. Sometimes it seems like we don't manufacture very much anymore.

Battery powered ignition and lights.

The stove takes 4 x 9V batteries. 2 for the interior stove light and two for the ignition. It will be interesting to see how long they last. The light is a button you hold down, and as soon as you release the button it shuts off. This means you can't accidentally leave the light on.

The broiler is in the oven itself and not in a lower compartment. I love this!

Our old oven had the broiler in the drawer where most electric stoves store cookie sheets. This was so cumbersome. On their website they say that this is the only waist-high broiler in an off-grid range. It's infrared and browns really evenly.

IMG_2283.jpg

Indicators and Igniters

There is a little switch that you flip when you want to ignite the over or broiler. The little red/green indicators tells you when the stove is ready to ignite. A little line will move from the red area to the green, once it hits the green you can turn your dial to the temp you want and you'll hear the stove fire up.

IMG_2257.jpg

Italian Made Grates

The grates are really heavy duty and there's plenty of air flow. This is really ideal for me because when I am canning some of the pots are really big and they used to be a bit unbalanced. This stove has a griddle in the middle. You lift off the cover to expose the griddle. I would have preferred more grates but they did not have that option.

IMG_2254.jpg

Complaints

So far my only complaint is with the oven dial. It's hard to see what temperature you've set the oven to. The dial does not click or give any sort of indication to help you. With time this will just become natural to me but right now I have to stand back and kind of eyeball it to make sure I've set it to the right temp.

IMG_2256.jpg

The stove needs to be lifted and pushed back against the wall. The legs are adjustable to get the perfect height. We are renovating the kitchen so I haven't bothered to do this yet. It's really heavy, 220lb so I wont be sliding it in and out to clean as often as I might like.

Today I'm going to get some baking in and test out how evenly it cooks. This stove is a really big deal for me. We've been using "the worst stove in the world" for about three years. It had more quirks than not. I am excited about how much more efficient I will be able to be when it comes to food prep and preserving!


[@walkerland ]
Building a greener, more beautiful world one seed at a time.
Homesteading | Gardening | Frugal Living | Preserving Food| From Scratch Cooking|

You can also find me at: walkerland.ca

Photo copyright: @walkerland

big_golden.png

Sort:  

What a cool looking range. It's a far cry from the clunker I'm cooking on!

Is the griddle just that or can it be a grill option? I'd really like that!

Thanks for sharing a just cool appliance. I'm looking forward to the full test results!

You should have seen our old one. It was bordering on safety hazard :)

It's a griddle option only unfortunately. I tried talking to them about making it all burners but they weren't interested in that. I am a cast iron only cook so I am not yet sure how much we'll make use of the grill but I'll give it a shot. Maybe we'll love it.

I am thinking it will be useful for keeping things warm and maybe even simmering pots - not sure. I'll definitely share a real review in a few months.

This seems like a GREAT thing to have. I'm adding it to my list of "must haves". One trick I have learned from being vision impaired is to use little drops of bright colored paint on various things so I know where to turn the knob to. I just use a toothpick to place a single drop to show me the way. Then all I have to do is memorize what the temps are for each drop. Needless to say at my age, I tend to stick to only about 3 marks per item. Usually can't remember the temps to go along with the drops if I go for more than 3, lol.

That's such a great idea, thank you!!

Oh, my! I am a little envious. I would love one of these babies here but at 220 pounds I can imagine the freight charges not to mention the customs. Perhaps I wil look into it just for curiosity sake...

I wonder if it could be crated and shipped by sea? Do you get any allowances for importing goods you've had in storage after you've lived there for so long?

No allowances. Perhaps I could do it lie in Johnny Cash's song, piece by piece? LOL

lol. It is a bit big to carry on. I think I would take your warmer climate life over any stove!!

Congratulations! This post has been added to our growing directory of Steemit post for the Homesteading/Survival communities. If you haven't done so already, you can claim your badge along with the code to add to your posts to let the world know you have chosen to help others Survive, Thrive and be Prepared! Click here to get the code

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63138.55
ETH 2579.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80