You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I FOUND STRAW! LOTS AND LOTS OF STRAW! - GREAT FOR YOUR GARDEN!

in #homesteading6 years ago

that's a nice trailer! We get straw from a local dairy farm and it's made the world of difference with how our gardens perform over the summer (suppressing weeds and keeping moisture in the ground) The only issue we have is that it give slugs a place to hide so I have to stick beer traps around the garden to catch them.

Sort:  

A friend of mine gets pine needles and I've heard those help with slugs.

Interesting, thank you. I have access to unlimited pine around here so I will have to read up on that. I'll try anything organic. I've become quite skilled at murdering slugs in the night. It's not my favourite occupation but they can do an insane amount of damage overnight.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43