Tasting My First Homegrown Orange

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

Good afternoon, Steemians!

I just got home from work and saw an orange underneath my Hamlin orange tree. The largest of my oranges had fallen. The problem is that due to hurricane Irma, like my papayas, it didn't completely ripen. It was on the ground and it had a bad spot. I smelled sugar alcohol, so I cut that piece off and still decided to eat the rest.

The rind was still partly green, but I didn't care.

It was good, but it would've been so much better had it ripened all the way. I think my other ones will better. The taste was mildly of citrus but to be honest it was more sweet than anything. Maybe Hamlin oranges are less acidic than others.

FullSizeRender (14).jpg

Anyway, it was so cool to be able to come home two days in a row and eat three different kinds of fruit from the trees I'm growing at my house (papaya, mulberry, orange).

Thank you nature for giving me fruit and thank you Steemians for stopping by!

Sort:  

they look beautiful with the green skin i had some funny yellow limes that looked abit like that

that looks awesome, i love the variety of oranges in florida / can't wait to get back / peace

Me too! And mangos! There are dozens!

Save them, even if they aren't ripe u can make some jailhouse alcohol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63626.66
ETH 2640.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75