Second Pineapple Harvest

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

Good morning, Steemians!

This morning I went outside, and noticed that my larger of the two pineapples I had been growing was all yellow. There was still a tiny bit of green at the top of the pineapple, but by this time with the other pineapple I had already harvested and the other pineapple turned out fine.

Sleepy AF

IMG_3126.JPG

Leaving the nest

IMG_3125.JPG

IMG_3127.JPG

IMG_3128.JPG

I'm not going to eat this pineapple today because it felt a bit firm. I think it will be ready to eat tomorrow.

Thanks for stopping by, Steemians!

Hansen's Gift.gif

Sort:  

What is better, holding a freshly picked pineapple or holding a new gold coin? lol.

haha very tough but probably the gold lol

Couldn't get any fresher! Just picked them 1 minute before the photo :D

Looks like spongebob's home. Lol.

2 years+ to grow these... that's the only rub for me. At least they are low maintenance. How many pineapples do you intend to harvest?

I want to do about 20 over the course of the next 2-3 years.

Wow. I could see the effort being justified in that case. You'll be a pineapple guru soon enough lol

There's hardly any effort involved. Just patience :D

Now you're just rubbing it in with your second pineapple LOL....j/k it looks fantastic!!

Haha! Thank you :D

Why did I always assume that pineapples grow on Palm-like trees?
I've actually never seen one in it's natural habitat. :s
Also, thanks for sharing :)

ooh. very jealous. I'm still waiting for mine to bear fruit.

It will come! Just gotta wait!

we are growing it inside currently. May need to try to replant outside.

So cool. Must've taken a while to get a fruit. Awesome job! Aloha

Yes, almost 2 years! I'm going to keep cutting off the tops and planting them out after every pineapple I eat :) I will hopefully be able to eventually only eat my own pineapples every few months! That would be pretty sweet, huh? Aloha Kakahiaka! Malama!

So if you cut the tops off the pineapple, it will grow into a pineapple tree? That's cool.

i don't see why not if u have the space for it. And that one you're holding looks pretty sweet. Have a great day.

Thanks :D You too!

Do not eat the pineapple alone, make sure you share with me... Lol!! Cheers!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59900.81
ETH 2561.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55