Pineapple Update - Almost Ripe!

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

Good morning, Steemians!

Recently, I've been noticing that the two pineapples that we have outside growing are beginning to turn yellow or golden from the bottom up.

IMG_3040.JPG

This means that the sugars are coming up from the plant to the pineapple fruit and that they're ripening - finally!

IMG_3041.JPG

I think in the next 48 hours, I will be harvesting the smaller pineapple. Then, I will set it out to ripen further until it reached peak ripeness. The bigger pineapple may take a week or so. I'm really excited about this, as this is going to be my first pineapple harvest.

Thanks for stopping by, Steemians! Can't wait to pick them!

Hansen's Gift.gif

Sort:  

Noticed this week the pineapples are nearly ready to harvest too. Looking forward to them. 🐓🐓

yessssss I love pineapples, and after how long it took to grow i'm sure you are excited to harvest! <3

Wow, I wish that I could grow pineapples in my garden, but I have to settle for peaches here in Sweden...😁

Mmmmm peaches are good too!

Yes they are very sweet and delicious! If I only can get the moose and the deers to leave the tree alone, they use it to scrub their antlers unfortunately... No other trees will do, only the peach tree!

How I imagine you'll feel once you've harvested -

30ZPxgWXBAzbA_InoaWl4WVCqJTWsgBHKKGOvNzoTJ0.jpg

Ah - great. We waited 2 YEARS and had our first one a few months ago but it was worth it. We watched that pineapple grow a little bit every day and felt proud of our first bites. Aren't they beautiful? We had ants piling up soil on ours and were not sure what they were doing so we kept washing them off....

Yeah it's been about 2 years for me too. Haven't had ants do that but they do climb on it. I usually blow them off.

Awesome post! I planted a few pineapple tops for the first time myself earlier this year, i can't wait until I get my first fruits. Enjoy a piece for me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57226.98
ETH 2416.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29