Our First Soursop (Guanábana) Flower!!!

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

Wow guys,

IMG_3678.JPG

I never knew that this day would come so soon. Less than a year after buying and planting this tree, it has grown more than double in size and today I noticed it's put out its first flower.

If you don't know about Soursop, you should definitely read about it. It has great healing properties such as being high in antioxidants, it also has high vitamin C, B vitamins, can help to reduce eye disease, treat infections, and potentially even fight cancer. It's shown an ability to help kill numerous types of cancer cells, specifically pancreatic cancer cells. It also has anti-inflammatory and antimicrobial properties.

Not only that, but go to the store and buy some in the frozen fruit section. Go home and make a smoothie with it. It taste amazing too! How can something so great for you taste so great as well? Natures medicine is fruit. It's the ideal diet for humans, I've said it before and I will say it until the day I die!

You can tell I'm excited about this. Let me show you some photos of the flower and the tree itself.

IMG_3678.JPG

IMG_3679.JPG

IMG_3680.JPG

This amazing fruit also goes by the name "graviola", so you might have heard it referred to as such. Although these next pictures were found online and not taken in my yard, I want to show you what the fruit looks like. I also want to show you some Soursop products we regularly buy:

16-Amazing-Benefits-Of-Soursop-For-Skin-Hair-And-Health-1024x478.jpg

Soursop-Graviola.jpg

Guanábana/Soursop Pulp

Latin-Merchant-Hispanic-Foods-Goya-Soursop-Pulp-Pulpa-De-Guanabana.jpg

Juice - You can often find this at Asian or Latino markets

61o0eTuYoiL._SL1200_.jpg

Since many fruit trees flower then go to fruit, I'm sure we can expect some fruit in the next few months! I just hope it grows to maturity before it gets too cold here! If so I guess we will wait til next season (probably early spring).

Thanks for stopping by, Steemians! Remember, you can't put a price on your health, so eat your medicine!

Sort:  

That'll be great when the fruit comes in! You have a lot of unique plants! Do you grow any regular plants most Americans would know? Do you have any orange trees?

Yeah I have one orange, one lemon, I had two pineapples but I already ate them lol but I planted the tops of those so I'll have more in a couple years. I have coconuts, mulberries, bananas, etc.

Wow! That's a lot of fruit! Maybe one day when I have a yard, instead of a balcony, I will be able to have an awesome garden like you!

The best cure is prevention and the best medicine is natural food, awesome post. Thank you for sharing

Cool. Didn't know they grow that fast. Planting one too once we move house! Wonder how long it will take from flower to fruit.

My guess is 2-3 months. The leaves on the tree smell so good, you'll see!

Ohh can't wait to see and smell them grow.

I never heard of it! What does the taste like? As the name would suggest, I'd guess sour :p

Yes, it's sour :) but you add sugar to it and water and make a smoothie it's delicious!

OOoh! I shall look for it! Maybe I can find it somewhere :D I am really curious now!

I think you'll like it!

Yum! Reminds me of being in Brazil. I love that fruit.

This post has received a 2.25 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @vegansilverstack.

Congratulations @vegansilverstack! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hi there, @vegansilverstack Great info. in your post. Know it well by the name of Graviola. We are from The Curator. (A post style magazine on Steemit) We do curating for informative, creative, entertaining, yet undervalued posts. We love your fantastic post. And we feel that it is undervalued. We would like to share it in our magazine. But first, we would like to ask for your permission to add your post to our next issue, With a picture from your post. That we will use as a thumbnail, We will share a portion of the post gifts. With the posts that we share in the upcoming issue. If you agree to this. Please let us know below this comment. At your earliest convenience.
Thank you. PostHuntress, @the-curator
And keep on Steeming your informative and beautiful posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60274.16
ETH 2339.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55