Moringa Cuttings Successfully Rooting for First Time!!!

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

Good Morning, Steemians!

IMG_2434.JPG

I wanted to share this with you guys this morning: my three little soft wood cuttings that I took from the Moringa tree from my harvest a few days ago are successfully rooting! I thought they never would! I've tried planting cuttings of Moringa so many times without any luck.

IMG_2432.JPG

I think the secret is to take soft wood cuttings (immature wood) instead of hard wood cuttings like I had been trying!!! Anyway it's exciting because now I've figured out how to have an endless supply of Moringa trees.

IMG_2433.JPG

Before, I just knew that if you Harvest Moringa leaves, they will almost always grow back, especially with the Indian variety I have.

IMG_2435.JPG

Anyway, just thought it was cool and I'm really excited! Have a great morning!

IMG_2436.JPG

Hansen's Gift.gif

Sort:  

The tree of life! This definitely is a great addition to any southern food forest. Great job getting the cuts to root!

Thanks, yeah I have three medium sized trees already, and I'd been trying so many times to get hard wood cutting to root to no avail! :)

Did you try pulling on the stick ever so slightly to feel any tension to make sure they're rooting? I have some apple tree clippings that keep leafing but they're not rooting! Ugh. Haha.

Oh that's annoying! Yeah I do (do) that but it's been a year and everything that has leafed has rooted lol sometimes what happens is if I plant them too early the sun just kills them and I go through hell trying to provide shade so I'm learning to keep things potted longer ;)

Oh yeah! I bet that's a big factor. Maybe keep them potted until fall or something?

Not even that long, just long enough so that they can handle the sun. I sometimes inch them out lol maybe 2 hours full sun for a couple days and build up until they can handle it :)

OH yeah, "harden them off" is what I hear that process called. Hahah. Silly weak plants!

Lol! Yes yes, wimps.

Great article! I would like to include this post in the next issue of the Weekly Homesteading Newsletter which is a series posted every Sunday that aims to help collect awesome articles and resources like this one! This article will be linked and your username featured if you accept - please let me know if it is alright to include your article as soon as possible! Thank you and have a great day!

Wonderful, thank you! I'll send a link when it is posted this weekend :)

Hey there! I just wanted to inform you that your article has been included and linked in the most recent issue of the Weekly Homesteading Newsletter! Please check it out if you have the time! Thank you and have a great day!

Wow. Congratulation to your moringa :D

I got 2 cuttings that seem to be rooting too. I have had trouble getting cuttings to grow too. I hope these 2 make it.
I have rooted a large about 2inch round branch cutting in the past and its been alive for 2 years now. It seems to be struggling this year but it has growth of both flowers and leaves. Go moringa go... grow grow grow! :)

Hehe I hope yours root as well! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63036.79
ETH 3067.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82