How to Dig Up and Transplant Banana Pups

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

Good afternoon Steemians,

Today I'd like to talk to you guys about the best way to transplant banana pups, the little bananas that will one day grow big and give you fruit that come out from the corm (banana root area) of the mother stalk (what I like to call it).

This is a mature Nam Wah banana stalk. It will be giving us fruit this year. You'll see little pups at the base.

FullSizeRender.jpg

What we want to do is separate this pup from it's mother (terrible lol) so it can begin to have it's own corm and everntually it's own pups. (this is how today's bananas are propagated, by pup or "suckers")

FullSizeRender_1.jpg

Here is a link that talks about the way banana's are propagated today http://homeguides.sfgate.com/propagation-bananas-71355.html

Get your shovel out and carefully separate the pup from its mother, making sure not to cut off too many of the pup's vital roots. I've mixed some cow manure, potting soil, and sand in a pot to place into the new hole I dig for the pup. It's ideal to plant into a pot so that you control conditions more, but I wanted to plant directly into the ground since this method has worked for me in the past.

FullSizeRender_4.jpg

FullSizeRender_3.jpg

Cover up the hole where the pup used to be and the mother will go on growing, just fine.

FullSizeRender_2.jpg

Dig a hole in the new location where you want this banana to be. Make sure there is enough space and ideally put it where it will receive at least partial shade.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Plant it in the ground so that the roots are pointing downward and horizontally and not up. Put your good soil under and on top of it. Get some good mulch and put a good 2-3 inch layer on top. Your new pup will require a LOT of water at first.

FullSizeRender_3.jpg

FullSizeRender_4.jpg

Get some water (3-4-5 gallons or more) and slowly start to pour it around the base, so that it gets down and can be taken up by the roots. I like to also dig a small trench around the banana, so that when it rains, more water will get down there. If you live in a flood zone, you might want to put a LOT of mulch around the banana, creating a mound. I'm lucky in that we don't live in a flood zone.

FullSizeRender_2.jpg

Water thoroughly for the first week or so, until you see that it begins to grow again (and even then water it a lot)

FullSizeRender_1.jpg

Hope you guys found this post educational. I'm very passionate about growing food, and if you are too, follow, upvote, comment, whatever you'd like!

@vegansilverstack

Hansen's Gift.gif

Sort:  

I never gave growing bananas much thought before... I'm a little curious about a certain upvote that was removed from one of my posts... Having second thoughts about me...??? lol... Just kidding... But I do get curious from time to time...
@pocketechange

lol don't be cheeky, if you don't want my cent you won't have it muahaha!

I do get curious at times... I found this one poster who had 444 upvotes with a dollar amount of close to $670.00... That averages out to $1.50 per upvote... I'm trying to find out what's really going on in the Steemit Community... It's hard for me to get 20 people to give me a penny each, so how can someone average $1.50 per upvote...??? I'd love to see your answer... Muahaha...
@pocketechange

There were probably 2-3 whales with $10-20 votes each. I had @glitterfart grace me with his presence once and hit me with 88% of his vote. That was a $100 upvote. It was on this post: https://steemit.com/life/@vegansilverstack/the-many-summers-of-our-lives-2017-is-the-summer-of-steemit

Nice post with good hints. And I love bananas, one of my favorite fruit. They are delirious and healthy.

I wish I had your climate, those puppies would die during out harsh Canadian winters I'm afraid. Great post tho, nice pics and we'll detailed

You can always come visit! :)

We are trying to grow banana plants right now for the first time. Its a cold hardy variety called california gold. The plants a putting out lots of leaves but are not getting very tall yet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69928.66
ETH 3631.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.21