How I Get Free Mulch For My Homestead (And You Can Too)

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

Good afternoon, Steemians!

What's a homesteader's favorite word?

FREE

I thought to let everyone know where and how I get all of my mulch for my fruit trees/homestead for free. That's right. Free.

IMG_1971.JPG

I forgot how I stumbled upon this place, but the town in which I live has a recreation center, and they offer free mulch for anyone residing in the county. You should check with your county, they may offer discounts or have a program like this in your area, because sometimes, just getting rid of the mulch isn't worth their time.

IMG_1972.JPG

What is offered in my county is pine mulch, likely from nearby construction sites. I've heard people call it garbage mulch because you can sometimes find bits of plastic or other little things in it. For what I need it for, it's perfect, and you can't beat free.

IMG_1973.JPG

I made a post a while back talking about why you should use mulch on farms and gardens, especially in hotter climates, but I'm not going to go into that here.

IMG_1974.JPG

You can read my post from a few weeks back, entitled Why Mulching is a Must in Florida here: https://steemit.com/homesteading/@vegansilverstack/why-mulching-is-a-must-in-florida

IMG_1975.JPG

This should last me a few weeks, since I will most likely just be using a little bit to add some nutrients to areas where the mulch has been sitting for quite some time.

IMG_1976.JPG

Thanks for stopping by, Steemians!

@vegansilverstack

IMG_1931.JPG

Sort:  

Place must smell nice.. Haha

Well it rained yesterday so it kind of smelled like wet wood, but normally the smell of pine is refreshing!

Great post. Thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68845.40
ETH 3281.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65