Homegrown Guava

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

Nothing like food you grow yourself, Steemians! I will say that until the day I die.

Here is a guava that I picked a couple days ago and just ate. It was so sweet, and I ate it like a dang apple!

IMG_3417.JPG

Store bought guavas are an abomination to the real thing!!! If you live in the tropics or subtropics, even if it's your only tree you grow please do me a favor and grow one! It's one of the easiest fruit trees to grow and can put out as much as 250 pounds of guavas per season! That's nuts! But you're even more nuts if you don't have one! Ok rant over.

IMG_3416.JPG

Thanks for stopping by, my lovely Steemy friends. Be safe this weekend!

Sort:  

Baby, can you please make me food? I am so hungry!

Yes........................................................... Upvote my shit?

hahah your post make me hungry :)

Oh it looks delicious! 250 lbs is alot of food for minimal work. I like that for the food forest idea!

Me too! Starfruit can be up to 400 lbs! and sometimes they will fruit twice a year!

very cool im gona try and grow one! so did you eat the skin and everything? :)

Yes! Very soft skin when ripe :)

awsome! was it grown from a fruit that you bought at the shop?

Nope, it's actually from a pink guava tree we bought at Lowe's if you can believe that lol

Nice one! What USDA hardiness zone are you in, if I might ask?

10a-10b, doesn't usually freeze here. You?

9b

You should be ok to grow guava, I believe, as they're somewhat cold tolerant. Definitely more so than mangos and lychees :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58972.92
ETH 2315.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50