Today's Mulberry Harvest

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

Good evening, Steemians!

I just kind of wanted to show off a Mulberry harvest that my wife and I took today - it was all of three minutes. The birds were chirping nearby as they smelled something sweet. Luckily, our dogs were nearby to chase them away. That didn’t stop a few daring ones, but I haven’t seen to many birds as nuisances - YET.

1A4C862A-3BA7-40EE-B7CB-15D36648714B.jpeg

The cool thing about these mulberries is that all of the trees decide to ripen their fruit at the same time, so we just have continual harvests for days and days.

I encourage anyone with any amount of land to take advance of how easy it is to grow Everbearing Black Mulberries. They take to the sandy soil with no problem and are incredibly easy to propagate. Here is a Youtube video I made a while ago detailing just how easy it is!

Enjoy Steemians!

Sort:  

Awesome trees! We had one near our balcony years ago and we watched the baby raccoons get drunk!

I've never had a mulberry. I'd probably like em as I am a big berry fan 👍😎 All we grow here in Tiltcove is is root vegetables and sadness

Oh no! I remember the sadness. Uncle Gerald used to get liquored up and take his anger out on me. Too far? Haha ahh the old Tilt Cove days!!! Let’s buy a farm there lol

I've had dried mulberries, but never fresh. Those look so rich and tasty!

Hmm never had dried. I’ve had Mulberry wine and I fancied it!

I just planted some mulberry cuttings that I got from papa-pepper! Can't wait until they grow up and start producing - hopefully they taste as good as yours look!

Ahhh that’s awesome! They are heavy fruit bearers! Good luck let me know if you have any questions :-)

I have a dwarf everbearing, and I have been debating where to put it. I think I'm going to put it next to my future berry patch near my doorstep.

My tiny .5 meter mulberry last year put off about 30 tasty fruit. It was incredible.

Each year they will get bigger and more plentiful!

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95