Eating Second Pineapple I Ever Grew

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

Good morning, Steemians!

DQmbzDRucAeVCfm5iq16pyzVYD9usra84ENnwzdxvzVnBCd_1680x8400.jpeg

This morning was the one in which I just ate the larger of the two pineapples I had been growing for almost two years. I picked this one at what I felt was peak ripeness and waited a few days to ensure it would be extra sweet but not yet rotting.

IMG_3180.JPG

This pineapple was absolutely perfect in every way. I had no burning feeling in my mouth whatsoever; this is due to high Bromelain content of unripe pineapples, while ripe pineapples' Bromelain content neutralizes.

IMG_3181.JPG

I highly recommend if you live anywhere in the tropics or even the sub-tropics that you cut off the top of your store bought pineapples and plant them in some good soil. Your taste buds will thank you later! This was literally the most delicious pineapple I have ever eaten in all of my life - no exaggeration.

Thanks for stopping by, Steemians!

Hansen's Gift.gif

Sort:  

Mmm looks good. Love eating food that was grown by yourself

Me too! It's very rewarding to see something grow to maturation.

Ripe pineapple has a flavour which stimulate immune system.

Yes it absolutely does, dear @mohammedfelahi This is exactly what my latest article is about (by that I mean my 2nds article here ever as I am 2 days old on Steemit, ha ha :)) https://steemit.com/health/@ruxonsteemit/cure-the-inflammation-in-your-body-cure-your-life I love all fruits and veggies, especially the non-inflammatory ones!!

@vegansilverstack thanks for that encouraging post. I've been toying with the idea of potting up my pineapple tops, but had never heard of any success with them. Now I will plant both of them and wait the 2 years. Why not, I'm waiting from 4 to 8 years for my fruit trees started from seed.

mouth watering stuff. I love pineapple. these look great. thank you for sharing

My pleasure :D I also love them!

My absolute favorite fruit. Congrats on growing one.
After a full day of travel to Maui (for our wedding) we finally arrived at our condo just after midnight completely starving. Lo and behold there was the most perfect pineapple waiting for us on the kitchen table. It was incredible.

Thanks. My wife and I literally just talked about going to Hawaii for our 5 year anniversary this morning :) What a coincidence!

I could eat pineapple like that all day long! Nice job. How long do they take to go from a pineapple top, to a fully grown and ripe pineapple?

Just went back and saw the 2 year part. .. quite an investment of time, but well worth it!

It is, but it's one of those things that you just plant and kind of forget about it :) I thought they were both dead to be honest but then once rainy season picked up this year I saw the bud of what would become the pineapples. Kind of weird, but they were in sync with one another although one was a gift from a friend and the other we began growing. Ours was planted sooner. Must be like women syncing up with their periods or something lol.

That is odd. Will they put out more fruit once cut, or is it only 1 per plant?

Usually one per plant from my understanding, but possibly more "pups" if you get lucky.

Very nice, upvoted!! I am new to Steemit and will be following your posts! Tried many times going vegan including last summer in our honeymoon spent in Japan. My husband was very supportive and joined in for a few weeks just because he believed in my 'no to cruelty' pledge. Not only were we in our honeymoon but my husband was never a vegetarian before, so vegan was quite a brave support move from him. Anyway, happy to find you here and will be following you!! :) Best, Ruxandra

Thank you :) That's awesome! It's not hard if you just choose to not purchase animal products.

You are right, however it gets tricky when your life partner still believes meat is necessary for his health. Easier to convince people to avoid most of available animal products, but when it comes to meat, most men that I met have very strong believes on how life and intelligence would not be possible without meat consumption in particular... So far it seems to me that women are much easier adopting the arguments of vegan health benefits or at least this has been my experience so far.

That's out of my hands lol :(

Yes yes. I am following you now so maybe will be getting more arguments to further convey. Cheers! Wishing you a great start into your week :)!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60479.65
ETH 2906.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43