Chickens routinely hunt, kill and eat mice

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

Have you noticed that the Kroger brand "organic cage free" eggs state that their chickens eat a vegetarian diet?

Well chickens aren't vegetarians...and a healthy chicken has a diet of both plants and animals ( insects included ).

Our chickens routinely hunt, kill and eat mice...in fact, they often steal them from our cats if not taken fast enough.

Here is a short video of some instances...thanks for watching!

Sort:  

I had no idea that chickens are doing stuff like this :D holy moly those cute guys are predators :DD

Think Raptors with feathers and no teeth, lol

I learn so much from them

I guess chickens are a good form of natural pest control

I have gotten aware of this a few weeks ago and was completely stunned. Did you observe all these incidents in the video? Man you have some good hunters. Have been seeing similar viodeos on youtube after I researched into this. The mini raptor comparency is quite accurate I guess.

Yes, I see them hunt all the time. They have vision that is better at locating and tracking moving targets.
Their attitude towards each other is also very interesting.

I was walking out to the chickens one day and scared a frog towards them. It vanished faster than a cheesy poof in the hands of Cartman.

that sounds fun to watch!

It was like watching toddlers play ‘herd ball’ soccer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57428.63
ETH 2425.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34