Chickens

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

Today I wanted to tell you a bit more about my hobby: chickens.In my opinion chickens are the best animals and their eggs are just delicious. So today I would like to tell you a bit more on how I started this hobby, and were I am now. Just remember:


Image source

So firstly how I started with my chicken hobby.
I started a couple of years ago with 7 brown shavers (chicken breed)

Image source

I started with this breed since they are very productive - they lay an egg every day. Then I got 2 more brown shavers about 6 month later.

At this point I reckon it was the turning point of my hobby. I started looking more into birds and thought it was time for change. I realized that brow shavers were not that great. Even thou they lay an egg everyday they can't really be used for meat, maybe soup but the meat is chewy. So on my birthday we went and bought a beautiful light Sussex chicken with seven chicks.


Photo by me

This was the best mum, she looked after her chicks really well, and was broody about 4 times after we brought her a the most beautiful rooster.

IMG_4174.JPG
Photo by me

This was my favorite rooster not only because he was so beautiful, but because he was so friendly as well.

Later on that year we bought light Sussex hens because they are very broody. At this point we didn't need to do anything because our number of bird increased way too fast for our liking. We sometimes had up to a hundred birds.

Now that we had so many chickens we decided that it was boring to just have chickens. So we decided to have ducks as well because they are really good for meat, and their eggs are delicious as well. But that is a different story.

I hope you have learned something about me.

Sort:  

You can use the meat in a slowcooker that's how I use all tough cheap meat sources!

Thanks ill try that when next time, If there is a next time, now that I have a good source of meat :)

I miss having a few hens. They are crazy-expensive to buy these days. I could get some fertile eggs but they would probably hatch all roosters and we can't have them in town.

My favourite breed is the Rhode Island Red. <3
I will be keeping a lookout for the story about your ducks. :)

Ohh those chickens, I used to love them I still do it's just that they are not the best. But they are very beautiful.

You have received an upvote from @livesustainably. I promote and curate content that encourages and educates others in living sustainably. You can support the live sustainably cause on Steemit by upvoting, resteeming and creating content under the tag #livesustainably.

You can also benefit and support the cause by using the upvote bot @greengrowth.

Minimum bids from 0.01 SBD! The early adopters of this new bot have been receiving 100% upvotes! Wow!

Thanks ill do that form now on.

Congratulations @uniforce! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!


This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.
For any inquiries about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Congratulations @uniforce! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @uniforce! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66373.20
ETH 3291.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69