HOOT HOOT HOOTENANNY

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

Soooo .... here it is Thursday afternoon/evening and I'm just getting around to making mom's cheesecake. You notice that I did not say "a" cheesecake or "my" cheesecake. This delectable ... TO DIE FOR cheesecake was one of my mother's ALL TIME best creations that was NEVER shared with anyone. It was made, possibly, once a year, I don't recall it ever being made more than that ! (ask any of my family - they will agree !)

So you're asking yourself by now WHY is she (meaning me) making this scrumptious dessert for ? Well - on Saturday afternoon we are headed to the Michigan HOOTENANNY which is the brain child of Pratt Family Homestead. If you don't know who they are - go check them out on YOUTUBE. They are celebrities over there - we had the chance to meet them in TN back in May. He's the one that coined the phrase "YOUUUUUUUUU TUUUUUUUUUUBE" !!!

Anyway - back on track here ! The meetup is between 1pm - 6pm and it's a pot-luck MEANING you bring a covered dish to share with everyone. (Now granted when someone says covered dish to me the first thing I usually respond with is "what should I cover the dish with ??) oh and YES I can be a smart *xx at times. SO since we were bringing our 2 youngest granddaughters with us I was going to have the girls make their famous grape salad and also rice krispy treats whereas, me, on the other hand had something else in mind. Now mind you I haven't made this for over 20 years now but when I heard in one of the "Pratt Family Homesteads" live stream that Mike LOVED cheesecake, that's when I turned and looked at hubby and said - that does it - I know what I'm making !!!

This recipe takes 40 ounces of cream chesse YES FOLKS that is 5 8oz bars of creamcheese !!! So I'm just going to put a few pictures here and then let you drool (and yes, I'm mean like that hahaha)

crackers1.jpg

In the NInja used a mixture of honey graham crackers & chocolate graham crackers for the base and sides

crackers2.jpg

Crushed up graham crackers in a bowl with melted butter - once mixed this will be the base & sides for the cheesecake.

crackers3.jpg

Put parchment paper over the base for easier cleanup

crackers4.jpg

YEP - 5, 8oz pkgs of cream cheese !!!

crackers5.jpg

OHhhh how can you resist cream cheese ?

crackers6.jpg

Mixing cream cheese with sugar, lemon zest, orange zest, flour and vanilla (homemade vanilla I might add !

crackers7.jpg

I could probably just sit and eat this with spoon !

crackers8.jpg

Ready to go in the oven (are you drooling yet ?? )

crackers9.jpg

crackers10.jpg

Finished product and already cut into !!! I think within 10 minutes of the first piece being cut this was GONE ... DEVOURED ... FINITE and I didn't hear one complaint or any EWWWW's

crackers11.jpg

Kaylee's rice krispie treats

crackers12.jpg

Celia's grape salad

ALL THE FOOD WAS YUMMY - WE HAD A FABULOUS AFTERNOON WITH OUR YOUTUBE HOMESTEADING FAMILY FOLKS !!

lipsmackinggood.png

Pratt Family Homestead

hootenanny.jpg

Please follow, upvote and resteem! Thanks to all my followers and to everyone that upvotes and resteems my posts. Thank you for all of your support. Every little bit helps on our homestead. Hope everyone has a great day.

Sort:  

I love cheesecake now my mouth is watering

Have to admit - aside from the cheesecake at the cheesecake factory this is one of the best I've ever had (ok - except for my mom's ! )

Just looking at the photos @twofamhomestead, my tummy went gone and looking for it.

Gained 10 pounds just looking at it! LOL

You should have been on my end making it hahaha

Oh how I wish I could have been there! I absolutely LOVE Cheesecake! It is my all time favorite food ever! I even have it in place of Birthday cake! If I am able to get enough funds together for transportation to the October Conference you have to bring me a slice!

Tell ya what - with everything you have gone through lately you DESERVE your own cheesecake ... Oct 14 it is :) !

perhaps the first time use of your steemit funds a round trip to the next meetup and back home ? :D

I"ve never heard tell of a grape salad before :) all the pictures was great to look at but sadly no drooling here could be due to having had a meal a while ago :D thanks for sharing ps your not alone in thinking what to cover food with :D lol

The fruit salad ends up being on the "rich" side because of the cream cheese and sugar:

2 lbs green seedless grapes
2 lbs red seedless grapes
8 ounces sour cream
8 ounces cream cheese, softened
1⁄2 cup granulated sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract, to taste

Wash and stem grapes.
Set aside.
Mix sour cream, cream cheese, white sugar and vanilla by hand until blended.
Stir grapes into mixture, and pour in large serving bowl.

Topping:
1 cup brown sugar, packed, to taste
1 cup crushed pecans, to taste
For topping: Combine brown sugar, and crushed pecans.
Sprinkle over top of grapes to cover completely.
Chill overnight.

I would have thought the cake to be rich with all that cheese :D dang I'm too poor these snacks :P thanks for sharing the recipe that could be a video or blog of it's own :)

This looks amazing. I've never actually made my own cheesecake...may need to try...

It's truly a labor of love !

Wow that looks delicious.

I can't find the words to describe how yummy that looks. I can't even imagine the taste. I'm a cheesecake nut.

lol that makes 2 of us

WOW ..that looks super yummy! better not make this one right now as i am already up 5 pounds ..sitting around with broken feet! LOL
You asked for feedback...i see no need for any ...great breaks on the paragraphs,using markdown for emphasis...Super fun article, Cheers!
Melissa upvoted and resteemed

ouch - broken feet ? Sorry to hear that !!! Thank you for the input

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57642.15
ETH 2578.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49