Update on the Aerogarden

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

I am about 4 weeks into growing this year in the AeroGarden. I'm kind of disappointed that the cilantro has not come up yet, especially since I've seen them in the gardening kits, but I'm honestly not surprised. The plants, as a whole, have a tendency to not do well with too much water.

image
Here you can see the Ruby opal basil on either side, along with a citrus basil. It's either lime or lemon, I can't remember which! The two empties in the back of this picture are where the cilantro were, and the empty one up front is the other Citrus basil. I'm not sure what I'm going to do about filling in the other holes, to be honest. I would almost like some more basil, but I'd also like to see what else I can get started in these contraptions.

image
Here, you can see some more basil, the dark red ones in the corner, and then a Greek basil up front, all green and leafy and incredible! The two tiny little plants in the back are spearmint, and the empty hole up front is a Greek Basil that did not make it.The coconut coir growing medium has a hole in the middle for seeds, and this one got squished .... and the struggling sprouting seed hasnt made it out yet. Poor baby!

image
Look at the spearmint! It is so stinking cute! And I'm not really concerned about how thick it is coming in, because I will be clipping this probably every other day to put into a tea.

image
The red basil has been very finicky this year. This is the widest that the leaves have gotten, since it actually started leafing out. The other leaves have been curled up and kind of depressing looking.

image
Here you can see the other depressing looking red basil. I'm not sure if the light bulbs are old, or maybe the seeds weren't as viable? I'm not really sure. Part of me does want to come through and put in all new light bulbs on these babies and see what happens. They are also probably due for another feeding sometime soon? So I'll give him a couple more weeks and then just see what happens.

It's so nice to see edible plant life in the winter! I've got lots of green in the house, but I cant necessarily eat them.

Sort:  

Looking like some cute plants there! The greek basil looks amazing, such vibrant growth! Thanks fo r sharing:)

thanks for stopping by and saying hi to the new babies 😁

My friend picked up one of these at a garage sale but i don't think she used it yet. Interesting results, I have wondered!

i love mine & would encourage anyone who sees one to grab it! it does require liquid fertilizer, but those are easy to find anywhere.

So stinking cute!!! :):) Cilantro is kind of fussy...I am sure it will show up. Everything looks so good! I have an old model (like 10 years old, it is bulky lol) and I love it. Nice growing! <3 <3<3

i totally gave up on the cilantro - i'm going to try some fenugreek in there instead. the seeds that i put into soil have already sprouted, and it's only been 3 days!!!!

these are about 5-6 years old. old enough to NOT have LED lights (shame shame shame) LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64319.13
ETH 3411.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51