My First (mostly) Steem Purchase!

I finally made my first purchase with mostly Steem!

While there were several trades and conversions involved, I still think it counts.

Between the Steem I've stacked, the little bit of profit I've made from trading crypto (all purchased with Steem) and the money I've saved while using Steemit.com (reduction in beer and cigarette consumption), I finally saved up enough to get a few things for the homestead and garden!

While it was just $336, I try my darndest to run as tight a budget as possible to ensure profitability on the homestead.

When all arrives, I'll do an unboxing post.

03822_01_atlas.jpg
Atlas
Carrot Seed
1 $7.30
Size: 10,000 Seeds
ID: 3822.55

As we have lots of areas of great soil compaction, I saw these carrots and thought to myself: "Those could do just as good a job of decompaction as small turnips and are probably more marketable!"

I'm planing on doing some test plots against turnips to see how that works out.

0612g_01_sora.jpg
Sora Round Radishes Sora
Organic Radish Seed
1 $11.05
Size: 5,000 Seeds
ID: 612G.54

While I don't personally care for radishes that much, they seem to be smaller than most radishes and they're a short season crop that I may be able to get two plantings in the spring and two plantings in the fall.

02571g_01_corvair.jpg
Corvair Smooth-Leaf Spinach Corvair
Organic (F1) Spinach Seed
1 $6.35
Size: 5,000 Seeds
ID: 2571G.54

My wife loves spinach and our local grocery store sells it at $6/pound.
If it markets at three-times price of cheap ground beef, I'll try it for a season or three!

03746g_01_essmee.jpg
Esmee Arugula (Roquette) Esmee
Organic Arugula Seed
1 $5.85
Size: 1 Ounce
ID: 3746G.26

I love arugula. Nuf' said!

02681g_01_yaya.jpg
Yaya Early Carrots Yaya
Organic (F1) Carrot Seed
1 $13.95
Size: 5,000 Seeds
ID: 2681G.54

We don't grow many carrots in Oklahoma. But when we do, they're normally Danvers carrots. Danvers production is rarely consistant, so I'm trying another variety.

03172_01_scarlet.jpg
Scarlet Kale Scarlet
Kale Seed
1 $6.41
Size: 1,000 Seeds
ID: 3172.53

Kale is another high value crop which has been gaining in popularity over the past few years.

02557g_01_rudolf.jpg
Rudolf Radishes Rudolf
Organic Radish Seed
1 $6.10
Size: 1,000 Seeds
ID: 2557G.53

I had a woman specifically ask for Rudolf radishes, so I thought I'd give them a try.

00703d_01_brilights.jpg
Bright Lights Swiss Chard Bright Lights
Swiss Chard Seed
1 $4.80
Size: 1,000 Seeds
ID: 703D.53

Chard is always a great seller and Bright Lights has historically performed well here in early plantings.

02536g_01_ridgeline.jpg
Ridgeline Romaine Lettuce (Cos) Ridgeline
Organic Lettuce Seed
1 $7.00
Size: 5,000 Seeds
ID: 2536G.54

Head lettuce doesn't do that well here, but bib and cos give acceptable production.
I'm planning on trying some as a covercrop after planting potatoes. This should give a bit of production while helping to control weed growth.

09285_01_4rowpinpoint.jpg
Four-Row Pinpoint Seeder Four-Row Four-Row Pinpoint Seeder
1 $256.00
Size: 1 Unit
ID: 9285.0

Finally, the tool I've been waiting for awhile to get!
This planter will allow me to efficiently plant the seeds. While hand planting may sound like a romantic endeavor, my back doesn't think it sounds good at all. This will eliminate about 95% of my hand planting while speeding up planting at the same time!

As it can plant seeds in as little as a 2 inch spacing, this could really help optimize existing garden space, reducing the need for expansion.

All photos from http://www.johnnyseeds.com

I hope you enjoyed my post!

Feel free to comment below!

Sort:  

Beep! Beep! @shadow3scalpel at your service. I am here to assist all military members on Steemit. This HumVee will be scouting posts from a list of Veterans that is maintained by @chairborne. If you are a Veteran and new to Steemit, and you have questions or want to join the Veterans community, reply to this comment. We got your six, unless you are in the rear with the gear. Ooh-Rah!
Comment by @inthenow. This is a opt-in bot.

Awesome! Grow your own food!

That's GREAT!!!

SO happy you were able to use some of your hard earnings from here to fortify ypur garden and homestead!

Love to see garden stuff (from johnny’s!) bought with what was originally steem!! Way to go :)

This is soooooo cool! Gardening is a really good investment.

It will easily pay for itself in fresh produce the first season :)

Brilliant! Well done! That is what I like to see more people do! Bravo!

If I can use my steem to pay for my farming addiction, I'll be several steps ahead of the game!

Indeed. If people could do well with steem, it could literally fund a whole new group of people that can get free of the grid and build a natural relationship with Mother Earth. I foresee many more people going through the process. I pray you do well and that you find a way to fund your freedom!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.26
ETH 2596.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76