A busy past two weeks.. And more on the waysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

Its been crazy busy here and I apologize for not posting part 3 of my land blog. I have it all written up and am waiting to get video.

Link to part 1: https://steemit.com/permaculture/@torquewrench1969/the-land-the-plot-the-bed-and-the-plan-a-four-part-series-on-land-development

Link to part 2
https://steemit.com/gardening/@torquewrench1969/the-land-the-plot-the-bed-and-the-plan-a-four-part-series-on-land-development-part-2-the-plot

I gained access to another 8.7 acres, bringing my management total to 41.9 acres.

Unfortunately, its in four plots spread out over 17 miles in 2 counties. I'm sure it will work out in the end, but I have some time management issues to get resolved.

I brewed and bottled a case of kombucha. Much easier than brewing beer, but uses all the same equipment. After seeing the price of kombucha in the stores ($2.50-$4.75 per 16 oz bottle) I decided to give it a try. I'll definately save some money!

Waiting and preparing for chicks and ducklings. Hatch should start Friday - Saturday. It'll be nice to have some new birds.

In the last 36 hours, we've gotten 3.5 inches of rain. Should allow for good wheat germination, but has brought preparing new ground to a halt until at least Saturday.

Bow season starts Sunday, but the weather is still too warm for my liking. I'll probably just watch them for a week or two, allowing me time to decide which deer to cull from the existing herd.

If all goes well, video for my next land posting will be ready, and carrots, lettuce and spinach will be planted.

Peace and productivity to all!

Note: All proceeds from this blog go to land restoration and agricultural development.

@originalworks

Sort:  

It rained for over 24 hours straight here. I have sprouts coming up all over my yard though so that's awesome! We definitely needed it.

Yuppers!

Just a good, slow rain..

Already been checking soil. No compaction, good absorption and little run off.

Pond levels should be comming up nicely for the next week!

It is that crazy fall season where it seems everything needs done yesterday!!! I'm sure you'll plug along @torquewrench! We got blessed with some nice moisture here as well , but my covercrop seed is still in bags in my closet:(. Oh well here's to full cupboards for winter👍

It wouldn't be so bad, but its getting busy at my off-farm job too!

Rodeos, Pow-Wows, family reunions and dairy shows for the next 4 weeks!

Congratulations @torquewrench1969! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Beep! Beep! This humvee has patrolled by your post and approves of its content. @shadow3scalpel will be supporting new veterans, retirees, and military members on Steemit. If you would like to support this project simply give this comment an upvote and see @chairborne's page for a list of members and other ways to support the veteran's community.
little vet tag.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66052.74
ETH 3320.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69