Life On A Farm

in #homesteading7 years ago

We live on a farm, and life is never dull here. This is how we live and what our lifestyle is like:
We get lots of eggs from our chickens during the summertime, but since it is winter here, they have slowed down a bit, and that is usual.
One of our sheep just had our first lambs of the year! They were twins, and we are pretty sure they are both girls! We're not positive, but we know for sure that one of them is a girl. In about a month, we will probably have fresh sheep milk from our own farm.
In the summertime, we have a huge garden that needs constant tending, plus the canning and freezing of the food we do for the winter, so right now it is kind of nice to have a break.
I learn a lot here, whether it's about farming or about scholastic things like math. I was started in school when I was three years old, so that gets me two grades ahead of most kids my age. That's why I am in the eighth grade right now instead of fifth or sixth.
I make dinner every Monday night. There's nothing specific I make; I make whatever I feel like making (if we have the food for it). I wash the dishes the next morning on Tuesday.
Of course, sometimes there's something interesting going on. On New Year's day, it was 3 degrees outside, so our pipes froze, and we had no running water. Thankfully we had some extra water on hand, but it definitely changed some things up. When we did dishes, we had to boil water on the stove (thankfully we had electricity!) and then dump it into the sink. Well, we only went a day like this, the day afterwards, we got running water in the bathrooms, and the day after that we got running water in the kitchen, and after a little while we got hot water, and of course it happened to be right after we washed the dishes!
Also, we have a pond on our property, and it freezes over every night now, so my dad has to go and break up the ice so the animals can get a drink. One of the bulls happened to push one of our cows down into the pond, and her legs were sliding and she could not stand up, so my dad had to help her up. Two days after this, it happened again, this time, it was right after my dad had broken up the ice, and so her legs got stuck inside the pond! We didn't know if she was going to make it, but she did.
We are pretty happy with our life, even if there is a lot of work involved.
Cheddar.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60078.84
ETH 3197.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45