My Moldy House

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

You may remember this post about our fixer upper house. We bought this farm in March 2016 and gutted it. We spent about 16 months working on it and got it about 80% done. We figured the remaining projects could be worked on over time.

The last time I was active here on Steemit was this past April. I had been making great efforts to post more regularly and was really enjoying it. I was also 7.5 months pregnant with our surprise bonus baby. And then the labs came back from the doctor and everything changed. I had mold toxicity, CIRS (Chronic Inflammatory Response Syndrome), Mast Cell Disease, and my genetic combination made it so I couldn't naturally detox mold. This explained my symptoms and also why I never got better when I treated the Chronic Lyme Disease. We were stumped though because we had brought this house down to it's bones and said no sign of mold. The only place we couldn't access is under the living room as it is a log cabin structure with no crawl space. We assumed that's where the mold was. The inspector came and found mold growth on the brand new floor joists we installed 18 months earlier. No joke.

Due to my severe reaction to the mold we had to move out of the house and into a tent until remediation could be arranged. The inspector said the under carriage of the house needed to be scrubbed and a vapor barrier installed in order to remediate. Due to my heightened senstivity my doctor suggested that even after rennovation we sell and move someplace else. The game plan was to remediate, sell, and move. Except no remediation comlanies would quote our job due to lack of crawl space. My husband is too tall to do the work himself and we have exhausted all our finances at this point. So we are going to list for sale "as is" with full disclosure.

I want to add that after researching mold sickness one of the biggest mistakes we made was trying to make the house air tight so it was more efficient. By doing this we made it so the house couldn't breath causing an increased risk of sickness from mold.

So that's where I have been. Throwing away almost everything I own, moving into a temporary dwelling, having a baby, and battling sickness from the mold.

Sort:  

Oh my.

What a summer.

Yes, making a house airtight will definitely make everything worse...

We did mold remediation on one of our construction projects once where we ozone-bombed the house since there was no way we could get at everything and we were seriously concerned there was going to be mold remaining after we did all the washing. I wonder if that might be a less expensive option for you and make it possible to get a better price on your house.

We are planning to mold bomb as well. At least we figured it would help keep the mold from spreading. Its such a headache. Cant wait to be done with it!

I can imagine!!

Oh no! That sounds awful. I know what it’s like to buy a house, find problems, get them fixed, only to find out the job wasn’t done properly. It sucks up your money so quick..
Hoping you can sell your place and move somewhere even better. At least you learned something for the next time around right?

Farrrrk! What a disaster! How are you doing now? Sending love and prayers mate x

We are ok. It'll likely be several months before my body heals from the mold, but I will be ok. Due to the extreme heat and storms we ended up financing an RV after the baby was born to live in until we can move. Once we move we will have to start all over with furniture and almost everything! :(

We have lived in several moldy houses in a row and I have struggled with health issues since 2010. We now know that mold exposure was the root cause, which is a relief. Much of the reason we had to get rid of everything is because we have had pretty much all the same furniture with us through all these moves and we aren't sure what t uf pe of molds were in our previous homes because we never tested it.

If there is special, treasured furniture, steam clean it. Mold can't take live steam.

I see I had reason to worry! So glad you found your way through, and back onto steemit! I hope you are well clear of the mold!

Chelation with cleaver and activated charcoal will help. The anti fungals to remediate mold are: Best, garlic, Licorice, and tea tree oil; Good,Black walnut hulls, Camomile, goldenseal, henna, lemon grass, and Pau D Arco; Last under helps, Tumeric. Some of these are not acceptable if you are nursing.

I know you know all these, Just letting you know that I am worried about you!

But I know your Hubby (the foal's Mother, LOL) is taking Good care of you, Be Blessed!
:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68062.15
ETH 2637.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70