Sort:  

Oh, it's SO true! I only managed a couple farm-to-table meals this year. Most of my family members are not big potato fans, so we eat a lot of pasta and rice, which I can't produce here (yet!). So meals often have plenty of homegrown ingredients, but arent fully farm-to-table. Someday!! Haha

I also grow quinoa and amaranth to cook with as a grain (even though they are seeds). I ordered my seeds from Baker Creek. Tip - if ordering amaranth, I had a hard time telling of the seed was ready to harvest on the Giant Golden variety. All the others were easy enough to see.

Thanks for the tip! I'd like to try growing some ancient grains too, like spelt or kamut. I think my kids would probably eat a boiled grain in place of rice, ive done barley before and they liked that. Quinoa might take a little adjusting for them, but I do know it grows in my climate. I'll have to tell my husband to order some seeds to try out a little patch!

If nothing else amaranth makes large beautiful flowers and my chickens and goats can't get enough of it. I've not tried spelt but love kamut. Beef and barley soup is one of my favorites. You can't go wrong growing any of it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63017.22
ETH 2457.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61