Harvesting Sweet Peas

Steemit is up and down again, been trying to post for hours, only once succeeded (my Halloween tree) and it was even posted from another platform, as a trial 😂

Anyhoo....

One early summer we were at grandmother's house. Her backyard is splendid to visit. Humble, big enough, always packed with awesome vegetables. No weeds. She always cleaned them good.

1508730079608.jpg

She planted the same veggies yearly, such as onions, cucumbers, potatoes, tomatoes, peas, beans, carrots, wax beans, garlic, sorrel, and tons more.

1508730546377.jpg

She would store them in her freezer, canned some into sauces, pickles, jams, and even syrups. She would fill up the winter storage with potatoes. This winter storage though, is almost like a dungeon 😂 Dark and cold, but potatoes would last for good.

1508730921342.jpg

1508731480503.jpg

This time we helped her harvesting the sweet peas. Delicious sweet peas. Harvesting peas is always my favorite because I love eating them fresh, crunchy and sweet, yum!

1508729683699.jpg

1508729745633.jpg

Did you know sweet peas are also called English peas? Some also know them to be garden peas

1508729780420.jpg

Look at these babies, what a bowl of green beauties, right?

1508729809693.jpg

I loooooveee peas! Snap peas, snow peas, sugar snap, and of course the sweet peas above 😀 If you don't like peas, it is probably because you have not had them fresh😉

Do you blog anything fruits and veggies? Come join us on Fruits and Veggies Monday, hosted by @lenasveganliving

Thanks for looking!

Sort:  

Amazing post. I also have garden of my own. There is nothing better than having your own garden. Not only because of the food, it's also joy of having connection with nature and peace most of us miss.

Dude, your comment makes more than my posting holy chiiiit 😂😂😂 @photo-moment

Follow me for more upvoted & Upvote My Comments & my post

What a lovely and treasured experience! Everything tastes so much better fresh-picked, especially when grown with love and care! I'm glad you were able to post.

Yes! Phewww 😂

There's an announcement by Ned the developer, but it isn't much of an explanation of some sorts. Just that they are working on it. That's all 😂

I miss the old steemit, I mean the early days when I joined, which was only in August 😂

That's a sweet looking garden! Even though I love apartment living, I am jealous of people who have the space (and time) to grow their own produce.

Live on the top floor, roof access @choogirl ! Then you can use up the space 😉

Good in theory, except that's where the pool is! 😎

Even better @choogirl ! Dry the pool and throw some dirt and voila 😂

Must be nice pool on roof top!

Interestingly, I don't think anyone else in the building will agree to that.

Yeah a rooftop pool (level 44) is the best. I love it.

My grandmother had garden like this when I grew up and I never forget eating the peas straight from the bush.

We used to have dark cool room like that too, where she stored all her goodies lol. Sweet memories 🌸💖🌸

Wonderful entry my Dear, thank you so much 😊

Your garden is very pretty! I love peas, too! Especially raw, just taken from the garden. But I also used to cook pea-soup with some carrots, parsley and wheat dumplings. Yummy!

Not mine @kalemandra

Nagy mamae 😊

This makes me really excited for my beans and peas to start cropping! I sitting in the garden munching on snap peas! Oooh I can't wait! Thank you so much for sharing! Your grandmother has a gorgeous garden!

Yes she does. On the other sides of the garden, left is for beans, right is for fruits (raspberry)

Love going to her garden 😊

Thanks @kiwicanfly share some pics once you are harvesting!

Love fresh peas! it is time for us to plant now - but 100 degrees weather is not good for planting seeds.....

Oooh hot!! Nice but also not nice when it's too hot. We are into winter now, wish it was still hot here tho

Thanks @mariannewest

Your grandmother indeed has a beautiful and clean garden. Fresh picked peas tastes so delicious

Thank you @shilpavarma !

I agree, fresh peas are the best for sure 😀

Congratulations to you! A well-earned award!

Yay thank you @lenasveganliving and @woman-onthe-wing !

Did you notice Steemit has new look now btw?

It's our pleasure @thekitchenfairy keep up the good job Dear.

Oh I see some slight changes, I just hope it will be functioning well too. LOL!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58557.01
ETH 2992.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74