You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Make Your GARDEN EXPLODE With THESE AMENDMENTS

in #homesteading7 years ago

All of those are great amendments. I aren’t used any rock dust, as it’s rather expensive for a large area. I find wood ash provides all the minerals I need, plus it alkalinizes my slightly acidic soil. I also use a ton of leaves as they are so available here in MI. I use worm castings for seed starting, and compost my coffee grounds.

My soil is sandy with no rocks, so it’s much different from yours. I use some manures when I have access to them cheaply, usually cow or chicken, but I mainly use my urine for nitrogen if needed by the plants. I totally agree, the more diversity of elements you add to your soil, the more soil life it will support. Finding this elements in abundance and cheaply I think is the challenge.

Sort:  

Yes, we will add wood ash from our stove in the winter. It really help to mineralize the soil. There is some good stuff in there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65265.67
ETH 3326.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63