You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mr. Permaculture on Adventure #4 - Peeing and Making Biochar

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

+1 for urine in the garden! I haven't used bio char, but I always spread a sprinkling of wood ash and the charcoal left over from my wood stove. That with urine pretty much supply all the nutrients a garden needs. It's not as difficult fertilizing a garden as people sometimes make it out to be.

Sort:  

Thank you for your comment! The best advantage of biochar is that it can hold nutrients for hundreds to thousands of years! And I agree with you - fertilizing a garden is not difficult. There is no need for artificial fertilizers that kill soil life.

Yep indeed. I'm going to try and make some biochar this winter. I just need a canister that can handle the heat of my wood stove. I can drop sawdust and small bits of wood in the can and just leave it in the wood stove till it's ready.

Absolutely! Why wasting the heat on the wood stove when you can reuse it to make biochar. Same with fireplace.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62134.47
ETH 2417.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54