Select The Right Sweet Potatoes To Start Slips, and have a GREAT HARVEST! This was a surprise, and I'll take advantage of it!!!

in #homesteading6 years ago

Sweet-potato-slips.png

Howdy friends, and thanks for stopping by my front porch here at Steemit! I was culling through what's left of my 2017 sweet potato harvest, and noticed this one. Despite sitting in a bin with other potatoes from December until now, it's already budding slips (with no input from me)!

20180216_123741.jpg

20180216_123751 (1).jpg

This is a potato I want to propagate, and produce a good quantity of slips for this spring's planting. Why? Because it's already started to slip-out, with no water, soil, care, etc. It's a strong potato with strong DNA....

Every year I want to continue the "strong" and weed out the weak, thus making the potatoes more resistant to pests, diseases, and soil & environmental factors that could affect the yield. Every year they will also become more tolerant and adaptive to my geographical region.

Please don't forget to Upvote, Resteem, Follow, and Comment!

Sort:  

Or, perhaps it's liking this warm weather we're having! 78 degrees Fahrenheit in Central Louisiana today!

It's REALLY nice right? Finally in the 70's and sun out!!! Thanks @beekerst

You just planted 0.52 tree(s)!


Thanks to @skycae

We have planted already 7873.02 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 18422.88
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Awesome!!!! Thanks!!!!

Oh man I love sweet potatoes, like A LOT! They are like the candy of the earth haha. I only wish I had a longer season and could grow them well, but I will have a greenhouse soon enough and I will definately attempt to grow them there!

I agree with you 100%....so delicious, especially when cured properly! That's exciting that you'll be getting your greenhouse soon...please let me know how things go when you start sweet potatoes..thanks for commenting @skycae !!!

I am excited to learn more about them and to grow them. They are probably my favorite veggie as of late haha. I am sure I will post about it, thanks for your awesomness!

Thank you for YOUR awesomeness @skycae !!!

Good luck with this strong one :)
I don't think UK climate is suitable for Sweet Potatoes.

I bet the nightshade species of potatoes grow really well on the UK...like russet, reds, and Yukon golds. They prefer cooler milder climates. Thanks for your comment @eggmeister !

Hello @texasoffgrid, I processed some potato seeds last year and did a video on it. Hopefully they'll be good long-term storage though I do intend to germinate and grow some this year to test them out. They are red potatoes but not sure on variety (either Mozart, Shannon, Desiree or Romano). It's a mildly interesting story how I came across these seeds ;)

Hey man that's an awesome video, they actually DO look like green tomatoes. I got an education with the video!!! Thanks for providing the link...I've never seen potato pods with seeds...good luck on the germination this year my friend

Many thanks @texasoffgrid :)
I left the tubers in the composter to grow again this year (hopefully). If they do grow out of the composter and produce seed pods again, I'll process them :) I might give those ones away to steemit members,....... so here's hoping they deliver the goods LOL

Hey @eggmeister, you are the Man!!!...looking forward to seeing the progress! :D Thanks

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by texasoffgrid from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61038.71
ETH 3404.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50