Free Wood??? YEAH...This "Big Box" Home Improvement Store Will Let You Take All You Want...

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

Free-Woods-at-home-depot (3).png

Howdy friends! We've ALL heard that one person's trash is another's treasure...RIGHT?!?! I'll add to that - how about one multi-billion dollar home improvement chain's trash can be OUR treasure!

FREE WOOD...YOURS FOR THE TAKING

Every time I "stop by" (hour and a half round trip) my closest big box home improvement store (the one with the orange sign), I find trash cans in the dimensional lumber isles filled with wood that gets discarded when pallets and cases come in to be shelved. This is the wood that's used under the plastic or steel bands on case lots, and also to protect the product during transport. You either take it, for free, no questions, asked, or it goes to the compactor that evening.
20180213_113304.jpg

This trip they had a whole cart full just sitting there...FREE!
20180130_115448.jpg

Over the winter months, I've accumulated several hundred linear feet.
20180208_133316 (2).jpg

There really is no standard size, but you can typically find them in 36" to 40" lengths, and 2x2, 2x3, even 2x4 dimensions. You can even find pressure treated as well...
20180213_142655.jpg

I used this wood as purlins for the corrugated metal roof in my newly completed horse run-in shed. @tahorfarm also has a great post for a wall mounted hay feeder I'm going to build as well, using this wood.
20180120_155804.jpg

Saved a LOT of money over buying new dimensional lumber and it turned out great!
20180120_155927.jpg

Our stores here in this area also have markdown carts filled with dimensional lumber 70% OFF RETAIL!
20180213_152330.jpg

Bottom Line...wherever you go to get your dimensional wood and lumber, and whoever your suppliers are in your area, ask them how they dispose of their "scratch-n-dent" wood products, and ask CAN I HAVE IT? You may get it for free, or a greatly reduced price! The ideas and uses for this "scrap lumber" are unlimited! A penny saved is a penny earned, and we can keep good wood from going to the landfill!

If you enjoyed the content of the post, or benefited, please don't forget to Upvote, Resteem, Follow, and Comment

Sort:  

I used to work in a similar shop here in Latvia. You can't even imagine how much stuff goes in the dumpster. I use to home a lot of stuff - lumber especialy.

Thank you for your comment @silini ! Yes I'm amazed what's free or reduced price from retailers just by ASKING! Lumber is expensive - good for you!!!

It really interested me. Here is upvote for You. If You want to get more upovetes, please follow me @szudaj and check my posts. I'm pretty sure You will like it!

I have gone into the same big box home improvement store here and they NEVER have free things. I even asked about some containers and pots, plus a few 5-gallon buckets, in the outdoor gardening dept and they said... "we give them to the local recycling center. You have to go there to get them". The recycling center is about an hour's drive for me.

I mean c'mon... just let me take some.

I agree!!! They should let you take those containers! I guess the policies differ from region to region, or state. I've also had good luck with the "Free" category on Craigslist...it amazes me what people are willing to give away - that I can use on the homestead!

Thank you for your comments @goldendawne !!! I sincerely appreciate it :D

Free wood is everywhere isn't it? It does require work sometimes though. I got in a habit of picking up pallets. They are hard to dismantle, but some great 1x4s can be harvested this way.

Amen to that!!! Yep free wood IS everywhere
...it just might take some elbow grease to reclaim it. Thanks for your comments @binaryflat !

Welcome to steemit! If you are ever looking for a group, actually a community, of homesteaders/gardeners/self-sufficient like-minded people, I am the moderator of a group here... also the "un"official ambassador to the group.

let me know and I can post an invite link here for you! I'm not sure if I invited you yet or not.

Yes!!! I'd be thrilled to get an invite link! You made my day - that I've been noticed by the Ambassador for the homesteaders group! My first two weeks as a member of the Steemit family has been more than great. I'm planning to post an #introducemyself here in a few days. The learning curve on Steemit has been swift amd steep, but I think I'm getting the hang of it.

Thank you for your support @goldendawne ...I look forward to learning a lot from the Group! :D

ABSOLUTELY!
Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS

ONce in there the Front Porch is the main chat area and there is also a Welcome channel.

Thank you @goldendawne !!!! I appreciate everything :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85