Watching my garden grow week 3

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

It has been 3 weeks since I planted the first stage of my garden.

This weekend I plan to do stage 2. I would love to get started started on it sooner but I have too many other things on the schedule that sadly it will have to wait till then. Thankfully most of what I plant doesn't take longer than 90 days from plant to harvest so I have a few more weeks that I can plant.

Garden after 3 weeks in the ground

20180529_164912.jpg

If you forgot how big it was last week here is a photo from week 2

20180522_144711.jpg

This one was from the day they went into the ground day 1

20180505_133542.jpg

I should have some tomatoes and peppers forming soon

As today I noticed both of those plants are starting to flower. It won't be long before it starts to produce yummy food formour tummies. And before anyone asks yes I could have spread things out but I chose to use recommended minimum spacing so I can produce more food to share.

Tomato flowers

20180529_165004.jpg

Bell Pepper flowers

20180529_165013.jpg

I am thrilled my heads of lettuce are thriving

I was told these can be harder to grow than other types of lettuce and when I transferred them I got slightly worried cause at first they seemed to struggle but as you can see they are thriving. I plan to plant other other types of lettuce this weekend.

20180529_164949_Burst01.jpg

I can't wait for fruits and veggies from my garden

Things taste so much better out of the garden. I love knowing what I am actually putting into my body. I don't use chemicals on my gardens and try to plant things that act naturally to keep bugs and pests away. So far the only thing that has been touched is my basil and after this weekend those rabbits won't have access to it anymore as a tiny fence is going up.

Growing potatoes is like buying a mystery box

As in the fact you never know how many you will get from the plants. Then you got to dig for them. These are red potatoes. I plan to plant russett potatoes this weekend. I am so excited to get the 2nd phase started.
20180529_164941.jpg

DQmVBgJr2k8xdeRdwfkLng3adEkfZpLTnXs2eon5v6tAAN5_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Looks like things are coming along very nicely. It awesome once they story to pop out of the ground they just grow crazy fast!!
I’m goin to start battling it out with the little birdies here soon. Those are my strawberries not yours. Get over to the neighbors and eat the bird seed he put out for you. Not my yummy fruits!! You little A-#%#
Sorry got a little carried away. My bad 😜

That is why I plant herbs to repel some of the animals. Different animals stay away from different herbs so if planted near fruit or veggies you can keep pest away.

My neighbor is on vacation, sounds like a perfect time to demo that bird feeder. Lol.
The only ones that come around hit that bird feeder first.
I’m goin to have to do some surveillance and see what exactly is happening. We had one strawberry pecked at it no others. Weird?!?

Wow your veggies are growing well...
Did you plant them from seed or semi sprouted? I have planted a few things from seed and only just starting to see some life!
I shall get out there this weekend and get back in the Steemit saddle ☺ have been a bit distant and unmotivated lately... must be the heat 😎

They were starts except for the potatoes.

VERY Nice! I'm back! Found my password! :) You will have to fill me in on all the good stuff going on here on Steemit soon! :)

It is about damn time you found it. Glad to see you back.

You got a 2.26% upvote from @upme thanks to @tecnosgirl! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% daily payouts ( no commission ).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67931.04
ETH 3244.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67