Lunch partly from my garden

in #homesteading6 years ago

My tomatoes are starting to ripen at a faster rate

Soon I will have enough at once to make some sauce but currently they are ripening in smaller quanities. So I am trying to think of ways to use the tomatoes that I have harvested over the last two days.

20180716_121145_Burst01.jpg

It is a hot 91 degrees today

With the heat index it feels like 105 degrees. I don't like eating much foot that is cooked on hot days like this. I enjoy fresh fruits and veggies that do not require cooking to enjoy. But today I didn't just want a salad so I started looking at what we had. Cottage cheese and tomatoes isn't something I have had in a while so I decided to slice up a roma tomato and mix it with some cottage cheese. It was perfect for a light lunch of a super hot day.

20180716_124013.jpg

social media done right updated (1).jpg

Sort:  

Wow. It felt like yesterday when you posted about your garden. Now it's yielding tomatoes. Bravo. I need some

I am digging up the red potatoes tomorrow as they are showing signs they are ready for harvest. And it has been over the 70 days they need to grow though sometimes they can take up to 120 days, I think they are ready for harvest, gonna harvest one and see.

Alright. Every looks ripe and juicy, just like byte ball. Come to think of it. Are you registered on byte ball.

Looks so nice and fresh tomatoes. It’s really feeling very good if we can eat our own cultivated vegetables.

What a good harvest and rich lunch😋

Very nice! Mine are all green and I am still waiting for them to be ready. I think I am going to have a ton of them once they are set though. I have been checking my tomatoes every day that I can and making sure they are getting watered because we have also been going through quite the hot spell up in MI.

I been having to water a little more than normal here in Indiana too. I am over this hot spell. We are suppose to get rain in my area today I am so glad my watermelon needs a good thunderstorm.

I am watching a band of thunderstorms move my way right now on the radar. I am hoping it doesn't just rush over and actually dumps on us for a while.

I am watching one too but so far even though it is showing up on radar nothing is happening on the ground. Thinking I might need to go do a rain dance.

Hey @technosgirl! Nice tomatoes! Lunch looks yummy! I hope your watermelons grow great! I seem to have had lots of flowers but no fruit on my squash!! Looking forward to them!!

I have just a few starting but there are some more flowers so I hope in the next day or two I see more.

Hi.
I congratulate you, your tomatoes look very good and if the season allows you will have a good harvest, a suggestion with respect to the use of your tomatoes is that you can prepare a part of them in sauce and save them for future use. Tomato is very easy to make and very rich. and of course I also think about planting tomatoes to make those salads that you published.
Greetings from Venezuela

I plan on making sauces out of them. Just not enough of the roma yet to make a sauce. I also have some big boy tomatoes to go with them I should be harvesting them in the next week.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63834.78
ETH 2627.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78