First stages of food planting

in #homesteading6 years ago

I am doing some planting in stages

I am doing this to make sure we are not cash poor any one week. Plus with my back issues I can only handle so much in one day so it makes it so much easier to accomplish things this way. I meant to take some photos as I was building the raised bed and the process of planting in a raised bed. But I am not use to documenting step by step instructions and didn't think about any photos till I had the tomatoes, red potatoes and the lettuce planted.

20180505_123632.jpg

20180505_133548.jpg

20180505_133552.jpg

20180505_133555.jpg

I will be building a few more of these boxes

I will be planting more veggies and herbs. This box contains the items we eat the most of. I need some russet potato seeds couldn't find any. Hope we get some eyes from potatoes we currently have and I will use those. I did that with the red potatoes that I planted. But I am proud of what my son helped me accomplished today. Thanks @ultrawing

20180505_133542.jpg

DQmVBgJr2k8xdeRdwfkLng3adEkfZpLTnXs2eon5v6tAAN5_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Happy Gardening!!!! I love seeing this progess. So good for you!! How's your back holding up?

I am exhausted and think I am resting for a day or two before starting the next project.

Slow and steady momma 💗💗💗
So nice your son enjoyed helping!!

I don't know if he enjoyed it but he is helpful when I ask him for help. So I feel blessed he does help his mom when I need it.

I have a couple of potatoes!!! Now I'll have to get in the car and bring them to you while the weather is nice and you can plant them!!!!😂😎

Are you still in Chesterfield?

No, I was looking online to find out about times. I haven't left. 😃

Damn thats awesome! I feel like you should connect with @grow-pro he also does some awesome gardening work! Would love to have my own garden one day. Everything just seems like it taste's better when its your own!

It does taste better when you grow it. I am gonna do some other veggies but figure I would start with our favorite ones first.

and which one's are those???

I have two types of tomatoes big boys and roma I have lettuce and bell peppers red potatoes for the veggies so far then I also planted herbs in that bed. I planted Rosemary, Oregano, Sage, Basil, Parsley, and Thyme. I will be planting lots more over the coming weeks like Russett potatoes, corn, watermelon, carrots, cucumbers, peas, green beans, and some type of hot peppers for my husband.

Oh damn nothing like a good hot pepper! Shit that's crazy that you do watermelon and corn too! Guessing where you live you have quite good weather for it!? Our seasons in Canada I feel like just aren't long enough for it.

I live in the wetlands. We have great soil for crops and plenty of water even when we have droughts there is still plenty of water there are a ton of underground lakes and rivers that run in caves systems.

Very nice! If your current potatoes don't develop any eyes, garden centers usually have seeding potatoes.

Every place I have checked are sold out of the russett seeds but have plenty of red potato ones. Will be checking a few other places soon.

You should be able to buy a bag of organic potatoes from the grocery store then try to chit them. Way cheaper. If they chit, they're seed potatoes. If they don't, they're dinner. I lucked out and found an entire bag of small white potatoes completely chitted. Don't have anywhere prepared to plant them, mostly because haven't figured out bug control and slowly working on the higher priority stuff. Like you I have to go easy and in stages. Your planter looks great, btw!

that is how I got the seeds for my red potatoes just waiting to see if any of the Russets I have sprout eyes.

Ahhh I see you know that trick =p

Tbh I've never had luck with potatoes. Blister beetles and tabacco hornworms have demolished the tops of ours the last 3 yrs. I think russets are long season. Maybe they are later to chit. I've got some I'm trying to chit now. Wish you luck!

I have always had good luck with potatoes. But this year we are on new land. This is our first grow season here. So we will see how well we produce.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53375.38
ETH 2393.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15