New Arrivals!!!

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

Oh man folks, my life has been so intense lately.

For starters, I was in the hospital.

Not only that, but I've been cranking away at Write Club like a boss.

Add to that a few days of sheep shearing here and there.

And the piece de resistance?

THE LAMBINGS HAVE BEGUN!

20180213_180750.jpg

As of this writing, we have sixteen lambs alive on the ground, out of eleven ewes. It's not all happiness, unfortunately. One ewe delivered her twin lambs over two weeks ahead of schedule, with a basic autopsy indicating neither one even took a breath. Another lost her second lamb to a delayed and difficult delivery. I tried to encourage him to stay with us, but whether it was oxygen deprivation, internal malformation, or just plain old fate, he didn't make it either. We gave him lots of snuggles while he was here!
20180214_080032.jpg

So let's see who we have... Our first arrivals belong to Umbra. She has a very stylish son:
20180208_161252.jpg

...and a gorgeous little daughter!
20180209_093241_001.jpg

Next came Shiner's... her daughter you can see smiling above in the very first picture in this post, and her son is the well-snuggled lamb who passed on to greener pastures.

Here's another sweet little pair, just moments after birth, belonging to 6W. They were just learning to stand. They are both boys.
20180217_061342.jpg

Number 30's lamb got chilled on his birthday, so he came in for a warm bath in my laundry sink and a bottle of colostrum to perk him up.JPEG_20180216_124932.jpg

He was back with his very distraught mother in no time.
20180216_131429.jpg

You can see where she had been digging to get out of her pen, in an effort to find the lamb I had taken from her! That's the kind of mothering instinct I love to see in my flock.
20180216_131437.jpg

Hawkeye delivered a very large and photogenic singleton daughter. She's definitely a keeper. She's very good at selfies, unlike me...20180218_184349.jpg

Number 37 brought forth this very handsome little boy!
20180218_183445.jpg

And here we have 46's twins, her daughter keeping watch and her son napping in the feed pan.20180219_103506.jpg

There are a few more darlings who have arrived over the last couple days that I haven't gotten a picture of yet, so I will save them for another update. We had a set of triplets arrive quite unexpectedly this afternoon, a pair of fancy badgerface twins last night, and a sweet little single yesterday morning. There are many more still expected, so this is not the last lamb overload post you are going to get!

Thanks so much for reading. See you next time!

all photos taken by me, with my Samsung S5 Neo

Sort:  

Awe ! Soooo much cuteness overload for me today ! lol! I love them ! thanks so much for sharing with us all @tanglebranch !👍👍👍😀🐑🐑🐑🐑🐑🐑🐑🐑🐑🐑🐑🐑🐑🐑🐑🐑🐑🐑🐑🐑🐑🐑🐑🐑🐑🐑🐑🐑

Thank you Karen! Glad they made you smile :)

Oh my!! They are so dang cute!! Looks like you have your hands full..in more ways than one!! ❤ I hope you are doing better and you weren't in hospital for anything too serious!!

They really are too cute! The hospital stay was for something reasonably mild, thankfully, just difficult to treat effectively at home. I'll have a post up about it very soon! Thanks for popping in :)

Hi @tanglebranch, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Join us on Thursdays for Pimp Your Post Thursday at 11am EST or 7PM EST in the Steemit Ramble Discord or:

If you’d like to nominate someone’s post just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord

Hey! Awesome, thanks @shadowspub!

OMG!

Hahahaha!! SO FLUFFY I COULD JUST DIE!!!!

It sucks that they didn't all make it. Umbra's son is pretty unique but I'm not sure which one is the cutest. I do hope you are okay.

Yeah, it's probably one of the toughest part of raising livestock. We try to have as many checks and rechecks as possible to reduce mortality but sometimes there's just nothing we can do.

I am feeling much better now too, thank you for asking. So glad you could stop by!

That are indeed some extremely super cute captures...!!! Loved them 100% !!!
Nature is supreme...Life is precious..."Birth... is the Beginning of the Journey for all !!!"

Thank you! Its cuteness overload every day out there now. I hope I can get some videos of tye lambs at play soon, it is the most heart-lifting thing!

I love 37s! Super cute!

These "badgerfaced" lambs are always my favorite, they have such character!

Wow. what an adorable batch of babies! Make sure you keep them warm, we're in for another cold week!!!

I know!!! I can hardly wait for the warmer weather, I can shut off all the power-sucking heat lamps and water de-icers. They seem to be staying pretty cozy in the barn at least.

Sorry about the lost lambs
Many new lambs to expand your farm 😎

Yes! There are some very promising replacements in this batch already.

Excellent to hear 😎

This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team.
If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot.
An image from your post may be featured.
Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63747.88
ETH 3130.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89