There is Absolutely Nothing to do on a Homestead During the Winter…

in #homesteading6 years ago

Said no one… EVER!

projects.JPG

At this time, having a young toddler makes homesteading a tag team effort. Typically, my husband watches our daughter while I tend to the animals and work on projects around the yard. Sundays are very busy for us because it is the best time available for us to complete projects. Every Sunday starts the same. Tend to the animals, clean out the barn, move soiled hay to the garden, and start on the day’s project.

Garden.jpg

Winter is a great time to get caught up on the little things around the homestead. Picking up the limbs that fell during the previous winter/summer storms. Rake up leaves and pine straw to add to the garden beds, compost, and the chicken coop/pen. Pull weeds out of the one flower bed our chickens refuse to scratch around in. Fill in the holes our dogs dug chasing after moles. Prune the fruit trees so they grow straight and healthy.

wild_plum.jpg

Winter is also a great time to plan, plan, plan. We make a chart for the garden. Where to plant this or that and how many. We are looking to add a watermelon patch and a squash bed for the summer, so now is the time to turn the soil and add some of those free leaves and pine needles for mulching. We love free!

Pond.jpg

2018 Homestead Goals

  • Add asparagus beds
  • Add turkeys to our flock
  • Build a free standing hay feeder
  • Build a greenhouse
  • Build a lean to at the goat barn - for storing hay, straw and feed
  • Build new chicken pens
  • Fence off more area for goats
  • Put up a fence around the garden
  • Solar powered well at the goat pasture
  • Start beekeeping

We have been planning a greenhouse for a while now. I have not thought about the interior design yet, but we know we want to construct it out of landscaping timbers and cattle panels. I also want to have a raised bed on the outside for more growing area. We will also use a rain barrel system for watering the plants inside and outside the greenhouse.

greenhouse_front.jpg

Greenhouse.jpg

The hay feeder will probably be the first project I do. It will be pretty basic. A roof to cover the hay and help protect from rain and frost. It will probably have a pvc or metal roof on it and we will use some left over fencing that we already have.

Hay_Feeder.jpg

Currently, our chicken pen consists of two dog kennels put together to make a 20’ x 20’ area. I want something that will better protect them from predators and something with a good stable roof. These will be 10’ x 20’ pens that are connected. We have 1 rooster, about 35 hens and 4 guineas. The guineas will stay in their current pen and they will get some upgrades. The hens will be separated by breed into 3 pens and we will get two more roosters so we can raise chicks. We also want to get turkeys. The 5th pen will be used for straw, feed storage and a slaughtering area. We will use metal for the roof, 4” x 4” wood posts, and fencing for the main construction of it. I will also build a simple, easy to clean coop for each pen. We will use rain barrels for much of their water supply.

Chicken_Pens.jpg

Current Chicken Pen

Current_Chicken_Pen.jpg

Once we have these projects planned, we will research materials that we can repurpose and upcycle.

We will post the how to’s to our projects once we complete them.

homesteading_badge.png

Thank you for viewing! Upvoting, commenting, following, and resteeming are all welcomed and appreciated!

Sort:  

Great Work.jpeg

Thank you!

Wouldn't that be nice, have nothing to do and snuggle up in your duvet with a good book! I'm sure you have some time for that as well though?

Absolutely! Rainy days and the Sabbath is a welcomed break from the chores.

Going to need more animal pics :)

Always something to do on the homestead!

So true! It's a workout too. I always say, homesteading is more rewarding than a gym membership.

Those without vision will perish. Goals keep us moving forward. Hope you accomplish more than you have planned.

@tedgoodwin I agree. Thank you for the motivation and kind words!

That sounds exciting and exhausting! I plan to watch ypur progress and try to learn a thing or two. 😀

Exhausting is right! It feels good once accomplishments are made. I'm pretty excited about these projects. They will be a good step forward in the right direction.

How inspiring!!
Love the goal list and plans. 2018 will be a busy year for you guys for sure!

Thanks! If all goes well, it will be a very busy year!

Hard worker, I like that! Followed right back :0)

A homestead/farm may slow down but never shuts down! I also like having visuals as well so I appreciated the drawings!

Yes I always do drawings so I know how much I need in materials. I also have to stare at it and take time to figure out how I'm going to attach everything and make everything work together.

I do what I would call crude drawings buy yours has more of a 3D look about them! Let's you really get an idea on what it is going to look like!

It depends on how much time I have to plan it out. If it's a last minute thing, my drawings would look like something only I can decipher.

Kinda inspired by your list to sit down with my cohabitants and get one done too..
Great project you've got! Cheers

Thanks! I'm a fan of making lists. However, sticking to them takes discipline. Still working on that part. :)

I know what you mean, here there is always something else that will come up and take priority..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62661.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76