You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Oh Good! More Hatched! - Baby Chick Update

in #homesteading7 years ago

Nice to hear they hatched! Even nicer to hear is that they feet straightened themselves out. Wonderful!
Is it actually true that if you help a chick remove its eggshells it won't develop its strength needed to survive? I can see how this is true, but may be a bit extreme...

Sort:  

I don’t know if that’s a for-sure true statement or not. I helped one last hatch and it had to be culled immediately.

Everyone hatched on Sunday and Monday and these guys were rocking around still on Wednesday. It was either let them starve and dehydrate to death in their egg or give them a chance. They can survive three days on the yolk they absorb before hatch, well that’s true for chickens, a little less time, I’ve read, for quail. Haha they’ve fixed their own feet so, they showed me a lot of promise.

They were showing so much vigor, I couldn’t let them just die in their eggs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57971.70
ETH 2448.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34