Sort:  

Yes you can absolutely pickle hen of the woods too!! That's what I'm keeping my eye out for right now. I've found 4 so far this season but all past prime. :( They went to new oaks but I'm still hoping to find some decent hens soon. They are different in consistency than chicken of the woods but both pickle nicely.

Thanks! I will try that. Right now I am dehydrating and freezing them. I haven’t thawed or rehydrated any yet, but hopefully they will be good.

The texture changes some in the dehydration process but still good. You actually don't even have to dehydrate prior to freezing! I chop, blanch, freeze or boil/dump then freeze. You'd definitely be extending the shelf life by dehydration and freezing tough. When we rehydrate I recommend playing around with different flavored fluids like broths, soy sauce, etc. You can also grind some that is fully dehydrated into a powder to make a broth and use that to rehydrate to really intensify the mushroom flavor. Have fun with it! :-)

Thanks for those tips!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63133.02
ETH 3043.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63