You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Price of an Avocado in Canada : $1.27

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

Avocado 🥑 similar to those shown is between $AU2.50-$3.50 from the supermarket. You can get them a little cheaper from farmers markets. I prefer the Reed or sharwill variety than the Hass myself. We’re lucky that Avo’s grow really well around here so if they’re in season you can get 2nd cheaper from roadside stalls or get the kids to pinch some from the neighbors trees. Lol.

Sort:  

Ok - that is good to know. I love Avocado with olive oil and balsamic vinegar

Never tried that. I’m usually salt and pepper but the Doc has told me to cut out the salt.

You are lucky you can grow these where you live.... maybe I could grow these indoors with the proper lights ? Along with some other medicinal herbs (cannabis) starting July 1st in Canada this year....

I saw a guy growing them in his bush hut greenhouse in Alaska on a discovery backwoods show. He had pipes in the ground hooked up to a wood fired boiler. Ingenious idea.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58140.33
ETH 2348.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44