You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Building a cheap and energy-efficient smarter house by understanding basic science

in #homesteading6 years ago

Hi @alexdory .I really found this post to be interesting. I believe that house building system might differ from culture to culture. In my own part of the world, we normally use bricks for building construction, and metal sheet for the roofing, though the use of ceramic tile has become order of the day among the affluent.It actually amaze me when you say you bought most of the materials yourself. Well that's good.
My question is what do you mean by carbon footprint? . Is it same with emision of carbon?

Sort:  

Yes, I had actually loaded my car's trunk with sacks of cement, carried iron rebar on the roof or in the car. Same with piping, electrical wires and most of the materials that would physically fit in the car, even a few that didn't quite fit :D
Oh, I drive a small family car. Never underestimate the power of engineering.
It wouldn't have been cost effective to order small quantities of building materials and waiting 3-4 days in order to be delivered by them (plus a 30$ shipment tax). And it would be delivered in a huge 3 or 5 ton truck :)

When producing heat treated ceramic building materials or even metals, mortars or paint, there are a lot of carbon emissions, depends on the manufacturer. Sometimes the more environmental friendly option would be to simply cut the wood from the forest and use it, and then replaced the same way when its life is done.

Okay.Thanks, actually it's an educative post.So getting the material yourself is cost effective

Only because I chose to build the house over a long time. I would contract teams of workers for a specific task (like excavating and digging a borehole or installing the rebar and pouring the concrete for the underground technical and treatment room).
They only needed a limited amount of materials for each task and the next task would happen after a few months. I would save money in that time and insert another coin :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43