You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Black Thumb Chronicles : Day 5

in #homesteading6 years ago

Hi ! This is AWEsome! Every day I find more and more people who enjoy gardening as much as I do. I feel so thankful for having the opportunity to watch you be happy and have fun around nature! Thank you!

At first look I would suggest to move the Marygolds, and the plants that have the same height as well. They're already big enough to be on the ground, plus even though I don't know their cycle, I believe they will drop seeds soon. I would put them in single pots, so they can have their own soil and be moved around if you have rain or too much sunlight. I also transplant to pots first so the roots have a better development, and only then is when I plant them directly in the ground or place I decided after checking as you said, the best place for them to be.

Tomatoes can grow well in those bags, but they don't like to share roots neither. And definitely you don't want to put lettuce in the same place as them. In this pic you put the name "basil", but I think that is a tomato!

Finally but not least, the brown leaves. It is a sign that the soil has too much strenght, In the case of tomatoes you need the soil color to be a little darker and with less woodchops, maybe coconut coir can do fine (and a little vermicompost) to make the tomato plants grow better, their root system specially! Tomatoes have a great ability and that is to be able to grow new roots easily. So you can either cut branches and plant them to have clons (more plants) or you can just keep pruning them at least twice a month, they also need a structure to support their branches, you could use sticks, bars, or even cord to do so. I would also suggest to learn as much as you can about tomatoes, they produce a lot if you do it well! Cheers to you for that.

My final thought, It's really amazing what you're doing. Even if you think that these are just a few plants, you are making a difference, and nature has a way to make ou happy when you decide to give plants some love! Again, thank you!

PS: You could buy or find another bag of soil mix. Be always aware that plants can have different needs in terms of nutrients, humidity, heat, etc. I'm always one step ahead and I spray a lot of liquid vermicompost to all plants (branches and leaves), at least twice a month or weekly. And one thing I learned about plants is that if you take the best care of their roots and soil, it will show on the outside. Its like taking care of your heart and what you eat! Remember that beans will also need a structure to grow attached to, you could plant them with the eggplant, but I'm not sure id they can go well together. Eggplants also need to be fertilized and need special care when the blooming starts! Those vegs will need a lot of space outside those bags in no time. I love that weather-climate. It really looks beautiful over there. Take care and have a great week! Hope that I can be of any help. You can reply if you want to ask something else. I'd be happy to keep helping and learning! Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64476.22
ETH 3153.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54