You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Homesteaders Handbook: Raising Chickens Part 9

in #homesteading6 years ago

Love it!
I know using DE can be a hot topic, but I would just like to add my two cents, which is that DE makes an excellent dewormer. Being that it works mechanically rather than chemically, the worms do not build up a resistance to it. I started using it on my hens when I discovered tapeworms segments in their poop! Now, I mix it into their feed on a regular basis and there have been zero worm issues.
I love this series, you have done an excellent job!

Sort:  

It seems everything related to chickens can be a "hot topic". I've had my share of criticism from the chicken people on my more holistic approaches to husbandry. Thanks for the info on how you use DE in the feed! I appreciate it!

Haha, yes, as time goes by, more and more things are 'hot topics'... LOL

No prob! Works great for us! I mix it into all the animals' feed, and the people eat it too. Great stuff.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64258.81
ETH 2772.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65