You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lamby and Jacob update: Is it true love yet?! ♥

in #homesteading6 years ago

We just wanted a source of healthy, home-grown meat for our family. At first, we bought Lamby as a feeder lamb, to raise up through the summer and butcher in the fall. Then we decided we would rather breed our own lambs than buy one every year. I kept my eyes open for a ram lamb nearby for a good price, and thats how I got Jacob.

Being sheep just for our own use, not for selling, the crossing of breeds did not matter much. We just want healthy meat. There is always a hybrid vigor from crossing breeds just due to the different genetics being combined, no chance of inbreeding.
They are meat animals, but i have to admit, since I already milk my goats, I will probably milk Lamby when the time comes, and see how much milk she makes, and how good it is compared to my lovely goats' milk. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62487.83
ETH 3340.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46